Confessions from a Homesteadin' Mama #1

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

I put my goats in time out today!

CUPCAKE (1).png

It all started when one curious 3 week old male decided he was ready to explore beyond his electric fence. I let it go, I took advantage of more hands on time with my future breeder, and thought, the day will come when he is too big and he'll then get a shocking warning to stay where he is safe.

Until the other day when he had his sister in tow. I chased them back in easily enough, and again I thought no big deal I'll just do this for a while and eventually they'll get the hint.

Well this morning one of the other mamas got out and proceeded to lead these two marco polo's all over the yard! I quickly got a leash and headed out. I got her and the two back in within a minute. This Mama is one of my oldest so she is pretty accustom to the leash.

Silly me - I thought that was that! I went in to fix breakfast for the little since all the farm littles were safe and already had breakfast. I was definitely caught off guard when I saw her and the two babies AGAIN wondering around - this time all the way to the back wood line.

Still having to put the little down for a nap and not wanting to loose the livestock while otherwise occupied I put all three of them in our "kidcare area" for new mamas with fresh water. They stayed in "timeout" until the little was sound asleep, and have once again been reunited with the herd!

So far I think the timeout served its' purpose beautifully and hopefully taught them a lesson in the process! But who knows?! We shall see!

The culprits:
Webp.net-resizeimage.jpg
grad 2.JPG

break.png
With Love (3).jpg
break.png
Follow Me (1).jpg
WATER SPORT (1).png

Sort:  

Lol I like your post especially the goats.

Oh I hope the time out cured them. But...knowing a goat.......

Yes, it didn't take long before those babies were back out again! But that mama has not gone anywhere near the fence since!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-01T18:22:15
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 78.00/100.00
Total Photos: 12
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 52827.29
ETH 2171.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28