You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Beekeeping in Bear Country - Simple Things To Help Avoid Disaster

Raccoons are my biggest predator, second to the family dog when it comes to chickens. Since moving to the new homestead, I've only lost chickens to raccoons. That was a funny story... me in my underwear shooting a coon that I had chased up a tree... I'll have to share that.

Sort:  

Ha! I have a similar story!...... I put a baby monitor in the hen house, on account of a coon raiding the place! The Missus still teases me about running out in my tightie whities in my boots and a shotgun to protect our hens! I caught the rascal climbing the fence with my best layer in his mouth! He's now in coon heaven. May he rest in peace.

Between two nights the coons wiped out my entire flock! This springs project is Fort Knox Chicken Coop!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59248.66
ETH 2601.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43