900 pm chickens


Ok, so I had a little fun with the title! My daughter WAS totally embarrassed but I figured I'd use a click bait title to fool around. I hate them so much... but they must work, so I totally expect that this will be my highest yielding DTUBE EVAH! (Since I only have like 5 of them, that might not be an accomplishment... in fact, when it isn't that may make it even worse! HAH).

A couple of things... I look WAY WAY WAY tired here, I guess sitting here i FEEL way way way way tired too. Second, this isn't edited. It's just real life.

My real life is I get up at 5:00 AM and go until I get the stuff done I need to. Today, I took some employees from our other plant to dinner since they were in town. I didn't start the day planning that, but tried to make hay while the sun-shined.

While waiting after the work day and before dinner, I went to the lumber yard and bought some lumber for a different project (I just can't believe how costly a few 2x6's, 2x4's and 1x4's are... That's another post probably). I then still had some time to kill so I grabbed a dark roast from Tim Horton's (Let's hear it if you're a Timmy fan!) and then went to TSC (Tractor Supply Company) to look around where lo and behold, they had chickens. In fact they had my favorite chickens. Buff Orpingtons.

Of course I want them! I have to wait until after dinner... and TSC closes at 8:00 PM. Long story short... I walked back in at 7:44 like a Chicken Boss and walked out with pine shavings, a dozen chickens, some feed, other chicken niceties and a small 4 shelved "greenhouse" (more on that later) that I've got an idea for.

So here's a quick video about doing it and getting it done when you have time and opportunity. I hope you enjoy it. Goodnight and God Bless!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Buff Orpingtons are so lovely - they are one of my favs too. Sounds like your day was rather busy - Hi to the embarrassed teenager :D

I've had a lot of different chickens. I just like Buff's because they typically aren't crazy. The roosters are pretty relaxed and the hens are pretty good mamas. In a full out survival scenario of chickens on a wild homestead, I'd probably get a few more aggressive, wild type chickens, but for our situation, tame, easy to handle roosters are better for my wife. LOL!

"Like a chicken boss" hahaha. I love your writing style :) cant wait to hear more about them.

Congratulations @homesteaderslife! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @homesteaderslife! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36