Homesteading Know-How: Making Staghorn Sumac Lemonade.

Live in the north and can't raise lemons for lemonade? You can still have lemonade! You can have it from the Staghorn Sumac - Rhus Typhina. I've made it and you can too. Here's a quick, brief tutorial for utilizing what many believe to be a 'trash tree'.

FIRST: IDENTIFY A TREE


Photo Courtesy of Wikipedia

They will typically be located next to roadsides and in recently cleared fields. They grow on a variety of mostly dry and poor soils.

SSFruit Drink1.jpg
Harvest the "berries" (they are just seeds covered with a red velvety [read hairy] skin. Get them when they are dark red and fully ripened. In my area that's usually July through August. The longer they sit out in the rain after ripening the less flavor they will have.

SSFruit Drink2.jpg
Cut them off the cluster and put them in a pot with water to steep.

SSFruit Drink3.jpg
Now this next bit can be controversial ("WHAT?" you say, something on the internet is controversial?), but I boiled mine. Some folks insist that a long cold steep is the best otherwise they are "bitter". That wasn't my experience.

SSFruit Drink5.jpg
Filter the steeped berries.

SSFruit Drink4.jpg
Sometimes a double filter is necessary. At this point you will want to add sugar to taste.

SSFruit Drink6.jpg
Enjoy your Sumac Lemonade!

cool text divider.png

150x150logo.png
GROW WHERE YOU ARE

If you found this post useful, informative, entertaining and of a quality nature, please support my efforts to create all original content with an upvote, a follow, a resteem and a comment!

Sort:  

I had heard of this but never come across how to do it. Loved the tutorial! We have lots of this in our area, so next fall I'll give it a try.

Cool, give me a shout out when you do!

Thank you @homesteaderslife! Now I have something to do with mine.

Very interesting write-up @homesteaderslife is this the same plant as "poison sumac" I've used sumac in middle eastern dishes before and always wondered about this plant is it poisonous as well??

No, it's not the same. Staghorn Sumac berries are perfectly safe.

I guess I'm going to learn how to identify this plant now!!

Thanks for the link that helps. I have a tremendous amount of the Staghorn on my property, will defiantly be trying this.

Give a shout out when you do!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67551.75
ETH 3252.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65