25 Days In... My Time on Steemit So Far.

This is a short recap of my time on Steemit. I'm writing it as a waymark of my journey. My intent is to be honest, to be transparent, and to hopefully learn something in comments. These are my impressions right now, at this point, where I am with what I know (which admittedly isn't much). Since I'm human, I'm sure I will continue to evolve in my perception, and most certainly in my knowledge. Feel free to jump in with your comments! It's ok if we disagree, let's just do it agreeably!

STATS
25 Days on Steemit
29 Posts of original content
25 Blog
4 Dtube Video
10 Resteemed Posts
547 Upvotes
350 Comments (including my responses)
221 Replies - To Me and My Posts
208 Comments - Mine (doing the math that means that I commented on other people's posts 79 times)
77.07 - $ Earned after 7 days dwell
23.111 - Steem Power current
7.814 - Steem Dollars current
102.21 - $ In Play less than 7 Days
.327 - Avg $/upvote (includes best post of 97.22 with a single upvote of over $79.00)
.512 - Avg $/comment (Same inclusion as above)
94 - Followers
86 - Folowing
1 - Bots I use (Gina)
1 - Discord Groups I Belong To (Homesteaders Online)
0 - Number of ZERO upvote Blogs
0- Number of ZERO upvote Videos
2 - Number of ZERO comment Blogs
2 - Number of ZERO comment Videos
1 - Number of contests I've sponsored.
1 - Number of prizes I've given away.
2 - Number of items mailed to other Steemians

MY TAKE

I like Steemit. I want to love Steemit.

What I like:

  1. Homesteading Community - I've met some great people.
  2. The idea of potentially earning actual money for my writing.
  3. Sharing my writing and ideas with a broad range of people.

What I'm not sure about:

  1. I'm still not sure on the best approach to build followers and Steem Power. I've written over a week at "Power Up" 100%. I've read that it may be more efficient and faster to Buy Steem, etc.
  2. If this is a true content producers venue. Outside of the blog page, (which lacks functionality like search, keywords, etc.) it's hard to gain any continuity of writing articles. Especially if they are multi-part articles.
  3. Steem markets, tools, etc. - Basically the whole "day trading" feel of the Steem crypto currency.
  4. The best way to make more Steem. If I calculate my hours spent vs. Steem earned I'd probably get depressed! :-) LOL!
  5. Curation - Not even sure really how to do it.
  6. Followers - The people I'm following just go into a big "my feed" page, which I try to come through, but it sure would be nice if it were classified by their name and then I could click on them and see their articles... or.. .SOMETHING other than a big list. The "hot" category is almost always the same people or person.
  7. Dtube - I'll tell you what... that has sure been buggy for me. I've tried different video types, different browsers, etc. and it's just not a very solid platform. That REALLY disappoints me. I want to exit YouTube but I can't right now. I mean, I'm not being monetized there anymore, but at least I can load it and use the video here and on my blog.

I don't think I can spend 5 hours a day chasing crypto markets, curating, etc. An hour or two, that's probably doable. I'm not whining and I'm new so I'm assuming that I will learn a lot more yet.

FOR ME, THE JURY IS STILL OUT

I'm not going anywhere. That's not my plan. I'm too new into this yet, but right now I got the feeling that my content just sort of floats away out of interest after 7 days. It makes me not want to even curate my own material. That's one thing about the old standard advertising/Youtube that I actually like. If something you produce does get viewed even a year later, it can get new life on different platforms with different people.

As ironic as it is that the blockchain doesn't ever "forget", the content seems forgotten fairly quickly. People don't even really want to comment on stuff that's over 7 days old because why "waste the time", or at least it appears that way to me. It just seems like an expiration date almost. It's like there is a constant pressure for the new and the exciting, but no value in the content you're building.

I also know that I'm late to the platform. It seems like the growth is pretty exponential and I'm sure that it's harder to get seen and known now than it was even a few months ago.

So... I'm not belly-aching, just sharing. I'd love to hear from you. Any sage advice (other than suck it up buttercup, but you can say that if you want to also)?

Does anyone else feel the same thing about the 7 day payout feeling like an "expiration date"?

Tell me about your jump in.

Have a good night and God bless!

THE PHOTO EVIDENCE

Sort:  

I'm new as well so I may be wrong here but my take on things is this - to grow followers you need to interact with the people who comment - what I do is if someone comments on my blog I will click on their name and visit their blogs and have a good read and upvote and comment. That way you get to know new people etc. Curation is just voting on other peoples blogs etc. You can find the whole list of one person stuff if you click on their name in one of their blogs. I hope I'm right lol but I'm sure someone will tell me if I'm not :D

Yes, I comment quite a bit I think. 208 comments (210 now... LOL) and 79 on stuff not my own. I do much the same as you do!

I'm struggling to get people to read what I write lol - I'm not sure if it's just bad content or I need more patience - I shall keep trying because I'm enjoying doing something I've never done before.

I feel you. How did you get so much seen power?

Ah! I was going to ask what your secret was! I was feeling like a slacker.

my sister has been here a long time and she is talking me through the hard stuff - I'm just doing as I'm told lol - You've earned more money than me so you're not slacking at all

LOL, you know what I'd say about that? I haven't earned a dime! Until it's hard cash in my hand, I'll treat it like my 401K - it's fun to think about and invest in, but it could disappear overnight!

Interesting post. I'm feeling your pain. I'm brand spanking new to this and I intend to give this a serious chance. Already I'm loving the few people I connected with. And even if it's slow to start, the fact remains I have been wasting my time and earning nothing on other platforms for years. Let's be patient and help each other out.

m19barcode.jpg

:) Well, it's not really a complaint as much as a record. As crazy as it sounds I'm this guy:

I'm trying to see what I can do here. I'm also interested in hearing other's opinions.

I went to listen to your dubstep but i can't get it to play

Mine? Try http://www.mixcloud.com/movement19

And if you really enjoy it I have a one dollar subscriptionon http://www.patreon.com/movement19

Thanks.

m19barcode.jpg

I started about two months ago. I agree it can be frustrating when you do not get upvote a and not making lots of money. But I think the rewards are in the interaction with people and learning new things. I also think it takes a lot of work. You have worded very hard and the rewards do not seem to be enough of I am reading your post right. Just think of it as an investment though. Every good thing takes time and effort. Keep up the good work and you will get noticed and your steem will go up

Thanks @bowentroyer. I'm not afraid of hard work! :)

This is my 46th day on Steemit. What I have realized that despite the advertising about good content being rewarded, it's all about money. The power in steemit leans to much to the whales and I am not saying that people that were here early don't deserve more weight than someone that just joined. I just think it would be a good idea if these whales that run steemit would open an account as a normal person and try to make any progress. If those that ran steemit were truly interested in developing good content they would make it easier for us new minnows and throw the people off that steal their post from other people.

It's all a money game. Learn more. For instance, you have 7.814 SBD, why not start buying votes? I use minnowbooster. Lately they have been limited to buying votes for more than 0.1 but for you that would be 78 upvotes. And the great thing is, you get around the same amount back that you put in, plus some steem power.

Once you get up to 75 or 80 steem power, you can start selling votes. Again I use minnowbooster for this, and recently I have been making between 0.05 and 0.1 SBD per day.

Curation, still figuring that one out but in the last week I have made 0.082 SP. Not much, but for us minnows, every little bit helps. When I get a little more understanding, I'm going to post something on curation for us minnows. One thing I can tell you, it's easier to get curation rewards voting on comments than on posts.

WOW! Did that feel like a rant to anyone besides me? This has been on my mind lately. I even have a recent post on what I am doing to see my progress on steemit: Swimming in the Minnow Pool. Anyway, you get a vote up from me (it's my 2¢'s worth).

That's for the response! I don't know I guess I just have to learn to play the game, but I'm not really about games... :) I'm a doer and content creator. I like talking to people and sharing experiences. I don't really get the "buying votes" thing. I'm not sure how I feel about that either. I like to think that the merit of the posts and the hard work of the person would be enough. But I'm not naive either. LOL. I'll check your post!

Your really doing great so far based on the stats you quoted. You actually have very little to be discouraged about. If you doubt this, go to the new feed for steemit and check a few people with a reputation of 25. Most of the time you will find a list of posts with no votes and virtually no reads. This is a tough gig to get started in and really, I am not sure it matters how good you are at creating content.

I hear what you're saying. I'm reading and learning more about the whole ecosystem here. I have the same problem here as I do in real life I guess. All my friends are poor! LOL! ;-)

I struggled with the whole thing of buying votes for a few weeks, thought it was wrong. A place that is supposed to be based on rewarding writers for decent content and you have to buy votes?

Then I made a comment or two in a conversation with whales about tying the SBD to the US dollar like the whitepaper says it will be. There comments led me to the understanding that for them this is not about generating a place for writers to generate content that won't be found anywhere else but it's about money.

With any game, there is no way to win if you don't know the rules.

I know... I know... I'm still new though. Don't rub off all the shiny yet! ;-)

Welcome to Oz, click your heels three times while saying "There's no place like home".

By the way, I already follow you. You do good work.

Thanks sir! Thanks for posting the link to the Steemit Board and the advice in your minnow post.

You've done great so far, from the looks of your stats. One thing I would suggest for you to grow your following is to find an author's post about a subject you love, and follow everyone who made a comment within the post. Also be sure to leave your own comment. :) You can follow as many people as you wish. Just a thought from one newbie to another! Keep Steemin' along, I'm sure you will grow to love it!

Thanks for the feedback! :) Upvote and Follow!

You're doing really good in those 25 days. I have completed my 30 days and not even half way where you're right now in terms of the stats. I met some awesome people. That's the only take away from steem :)


Rydhi
xox

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62036.41
ETH 2418.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61