DEET-Free Natural Remedy Against Ticks That Carry Lyme Disease

I recently returned to the New England area, and people here are crazy about avoiding Lyme disease!

tick-2329990_1280.jpg

Some go as far as never going into the woods, or making their children wear shoes AT ALL TIMES.

Well...that’s not going to work for this barefoot Momma. How will my youngin’ and I ground ourselves if our feet never touch the earth?

If we choose not to wear shoes, does that mean that DEET is our only defense against the ticks that spread Lyme disease?


This past Tuesday, we spent the day at an unschooling "wilderness playdate" where kids were able to run free on 10 acres.

They built forts, chiseled fallen-down branches, and built a fire with a metal fire starter. That’s a step up from rubbing two sticks together and waiting for a flame! (There was supervision, OF COURSE!)

As the kids played, the moms swatted mosquitos and chatted about everything from unschooling to work-from-home options.

I brought up my newfound fear of the infamous Lyme-disease carrying ticks in New England.

My friend--the owner of the property--brought out her homemade tick repellent that she had made that morning with a few simple ingredients in her home.

If you want to continue being a barefoot family and exploring the New England woods, try out this DEET-free Tick Remedy below:


Lyme Blastah Buttah (with Boston accent!)

  • 250 grams of any homemade lotion or skin oil that you like (coconut oil, cocoa butter, etc)
  • 30 drops Geranium Essential Oil
  • 5 drops Lavender Essential Oil
  • 10 drops Lemongrass Essential Oil (or Sweetgrass oil)
  • 20 drops Citronella Essential Oil
If you would like added sunblock, you can add and 20 grams of Zinc Oxide or 5% to 20% by weight (depending on the SPF strength you want)

Now go enjoy the woods, free spirits!

(Disclaimer: I am not a healthcare professional. Please use this recipe with your own judgment and application of common sense.)

Written by Elizabeth Klebart

Visit the site here!

gurusteem.png

Sort:  

Ooo...I'm loving this recipe! We recently moved to Florida and the mosquitos and other creepy crawlers are moving in on us, especially me. I've been bit several times now. Been looking for a good bug repellent that was natural. After you make this lotion, do you just put in on your skin and you're good to go outside? Is it safe for a 2.5 year-old toddler?

interesting poust, i will try it, thank you :)

hello good afternoon very useful information until I would be crazy with these creatures gives a little fear to my dog ​​constantly give ticks especially in the inivierno I will put this homemade repellent to my nephews to protect them I will follow your recipe thank you for sharing.

Sometimes i found red ticks in my dog, always in summer, and this bugs are very very hard to kill. I think i need to try this. Thank you.

This is freaking awesome!!! THank you for this recipe! Will share it with others!

Thank you Homestead Guru. This could make great DIY gifts :D

Haha yeah go forth and conquer free spirits imagine not being able to ground one's self with earth mother. Thanks for the interesting read mate

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95