Turning Sandy Baren Ground Into a Nutrition Oasis!

So if you've been following our story then you know we have embarked on an experiment of sorts. We are testing the limits of permaculture here at the Hewett Homestead. We have about half an acre of land that has until now been salty, sandy and barren land. This particular piece of land gets flooded out by the river that borders our property and has never been able to sustain life other than saltwater marshy vegetation. Until Now! We are trying to see if we can use a hearty cop of sweet potatoes to transform the land here and turn it into a productive garden space.
Come see the progress here on the Hewett Homestead!

Sort:  

Nice, I love seeing updates @hewetthomestead! I would like to include this post in the next issue of the Weekly Homesteading Newsletter which is a series posted every Sunday that aims to help collect awesome articles and resources like this one! This article will be linked and your username featured if you accept - please let me know if it is alright to include your article as soon as possible! Thank you and have a great day!

Yes by all means you have my permission to use any of my articles anytime you want. I love your newsletter and read it whenever I can. I am honored that you would choose me so thanks again and you have a great day!

Thank you! I added you to the list of authors who have given me permission :) I will be posting the newsletter soon!

I just wanted to inform you that your article has been included and linked in the most recent issue of the Weekly Homesteading Newsletter! Please check it out if you have the time! Thank you and have a great day!

I guess it is also really labour intensive to source and move clay, especially in FL :/ Woodchips are a fantastic idea and reminds me of Peter Andrews techniques for creating a bio-layer that is able to mitigate the salinity of the soil and groundwater. Your video also reminded me of another great tidbit of info I saw (posted below) that mixes woodchips, mineral dusts and FUNGI creating a perfect storm of water retaining symbiotic spongey 'soil' that can create unbelievable results thanks to the support the plants get. Look at this size of this guy's Kale!!!!! great post @hewwtthomestead ! following to see how your project comes along!! cheers @ecoknowme

Well thank you for the information and the follow. I love growing Your Greens.com don't know if I've seen that episode or not. I'll go check it out thank you

Will be checking out your progress. I, myself, have started my own organic garden/farm starting with tomatoes and bitter gourd here in the Philippines. I hope to learn from your experience. I will also start posting my own progress on my current project and share my experience to everyone here in Steemit. It's been a while since my last post. But I'm glad to be back to learn from you. Cheers! And good luck!

That is wonderful to hear my friend I love growing my own food and meeting others who have the same passions in life. I am very interested to see what and how you do your growing down in the Philippines. I will be sure to follow you as well and stay up-to-date on your projects thank you friend and have a blessed day!

Really cool idea! Can't wait to see just how productive it will be during harvest time!

I did not realize your a Floridian like we are here lol. I live outside of Gainesville. Always glad to meet more FL people on here. Great post, hooked you up with an upvote.

That is so cool yes we are Northeast Florida up here in Jacksonville not too far away from you. What it is super good to meet you and thanks for the update talk to you again soon.

lol...we just moved not long ago from Orange Park, I am now back in Keystone Heights so literally right down the road from you...small world. This is @sflaherty by the way lol. Guess we are neighbors

Thats crazy!...well in that case we'll have to do lunch sometime lol

Will be following to see the results

Thank you very much. I really do appreciate it.

Your experiments and intuition are absolutely correct!!! by adding the grass clippings you help add Nitrogen to your already very carbon-y woodchips. This'll help them break down faster. You can even make a big pile (2m x 2m) and use the heat from the pile to have an outdoor shower!!! (just put your pipe in a spiral as you make the pile) You can also double your yield by adding outdoor mushrooms that will help your veggies grow AND breakdown those lovely woodchips into amazing compost. Garden Giant is the easiest to grow and are super tasty. Just a thought. Looks great man!

Awesome info friend! Since I live in Florida and its 96 degrees and 100% humididty, i am not in need of a hot shower.LOL I am usually more than eager to hose off in the coolest water I can find! Thank you for being here!

haha, fair enough! I think I've spent too much time in a cold climate! Stay cool my friend, pleasure to be here with you all. And nice to be introduced to your awesome project!!

Came here from @kiaraantonoviche and the weekly newsletter. Think I'll stick around to see how it pans out, and for other posts from you all. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66426.55
ETH 3459.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62