Spring Photos Around the Gardens

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

20180402_140117.jpg

Even as I go to type "Spring is here!", there is about a half inch of snow that just fell last night on the ground. Spring can be a fickle beast.

Plants are popping up everywhere outside. My bulbs are all doing their thing, coming up as nature prescribed. The peonies and hollyhocks are also appearing.

20180402_140106.jpg
This hyacinth is so loaded with flowers it couldn't stand up straight!

20180402_140112.jpg
White hyacinth

20180402_140129.jpg
Violets are popping up everywhere in my south of the house garden. I planted one or two back when we moved here. They sure do spread! But I love them so they get to stay. They can handle it when the dogs decide to take a shortcut through the garden instead of going around it like they should.

20180402_140140.jpg
Peonies

20180402_140156.jpg
A hollyhock, a columbine, and peonies

The Bear and I had transplanted our kimchi cabbages into the greenhouse. Those are doing well...although a few of the outside leaves have some cold damage now that we had a few freezing nights.

20180402_143429.jpg

I had moved my lemongrass and this flowering houseplant out to the greenhouse as well. So far they've done okay.

20180402_143433.jpg

Thanks for stopping by! Stay tuned!

Banner 1.jpg

Badges.jpg

Sort:  

These are my favorite spring flowers too ! Their fragrance makes them so special.

28871785_965494163607614_1459457714273910784_o (1).jpg

Beautiful! I can't wait to see this in my own gardens!

Looks awesome! I love the hyacinth. Our garden is still unfortunately covered in two feet of snow that is going nowhere in a hurry :(

Congratulations! Your article has been linked and featured in the most recent Weekly Homesteading Newsletter! Thank you for the great content and have a wonderful Sunday!

Your flowers are gorgeous! I just love violets. My grams grew them and we would candy them, which is exactly what I plan to do when I plant them in our forest area. Beautiful photos.

I've never done anything with our violets, but I've heard of people making violet jelly and syrup and such. I'd love to see your recipe for candied violets! I bet that was a super special time when your grandma did that. Very cool. :)

It really was. I miss my Grams a lot! All is still in storage but when I get all my possessions out (it's been 7 MONTHS) I'll pass along that recipe :)

Beautiful!! I just love flowers!
I love the hyacinth too! They smell so pretty. My mom use to grow loads of regular and grape hyacinth, and they, along with crocus, would be some of the first flowers up in the spring.

I'm so embarrassed. They are hyacinths. Not hydrangeas. I'm silly. Haha! There are grape hyacinth all over many yards in our area. I need to get some out here. :)

Haha! I figured it was a typo... :D
Yes, get some grape hyacinth! They are so tiny and cute!

The recent cold spells nipped our hyacinths, so they're quite sad looking compared to yours. And your peonies are way ahead of mine!

It must have gotten pretty cold for it to hurt the hyacinths! Wow! I ended up cutting many of mine and bringing them inside to enjoy. I knew we were heading into a winter storm and I didn't want them to succumb. :)

That was a smart idea to save the hyacinths so you could enjoy them longer. I dearly love their scent in the house!

If there was hyacinth essential oil and it smelled just like one...I would probably snort it. Hahaha!!!

I also love flower ,,,Beautiful Spring Photos Around the Gardens photography and also natural place so amazing ,,,,,.thanks to sharing with us

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 67205.80
ETH 3112.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71