You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Annual Freezer Inventory

in #homesteading6 years ago

Your organization is inspirational! I wish our freezer was as well stocked as yours. I should be keeping better track as you do. We are butchering our steer mid August. I will start an inventory then. I can't wait for our own beef again! It's so so SO nice to just go to the freezer and grab a package of meat knowing it has no preservatives or other nasty chemicals in it. Knowing what that animal ate and how it was treated. You've got me excited all over again!

Sort:  

We do all our own butchering. As we work, I keep track of weight, # of pkgs of an item, and what came from each side or quarter, for a processed weight at the end. This is what I use to compare to the inventory at the end of the year.

I would love to learn to do our own butchering! As it is we have only done chickens. It didn't bother me as much as I thought it would. I do have a bit of a problem eating them though. We don't have meat chickens and some were about 3 years old so they were a little scrawny compared to what you get in the store. We will get meat chickens next year and by then I hope to have acclimated us to the taste of meat that isn't loaded in chemicals.

We just raise heritage birds, as we don't have the energy to run 2 pens in the pasture each year. They do not much look like what's in the store. But we've been doing it for over 10 years and don't mind the difference.

At this point the oldest our birds get is around 18 months and that would be the current year's layers. They all turn into ground chicken so no problem with old and tough.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60675.01
ETH 2605.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64