Our Greenhouse - Transplanting Time (Almost)!

in #homesteading6 years ago

20180501_144142.jpg

Welcome to our greenhouse! It is made from the frame of a disused stock trailer, wiggle wire, and some greenhouse rated plastic.

The greenhouse is doing great! I'm already having to open the doors on it during the day to keep air flowing through. Soon we will have to start raising and lowering the sides...and eventually just leaving the sides up. It gets so hot and humid here in Missouri the plants would probably suffocate if we didn't.

Here are photos of our plants about a week before I decided it was time to transplant them into their permanent spots in the grow barrels.

20180501_144230.jpg
A couple of pepper plants, some cucumbers, and a few flower seeds I am trying to get started.

20180501_144232.jpg
Eggplants and more cucumbers

20180501_144237.jpg
Tomatoes and a head of lettuce I'm growing from the stalk of a head of lettuce from the store @kiaraantonoviche style ;)

Here are the things we have direct-sown into the barrels:

20180501_144156.jpg
Carrots

20180501_144216.jpg
Lettuce

20180501_144224.jpg
More lettuce

The Chives I sowed at the same time I did the carrots had yet to appear at the time I took these photos.

Here are the Chinese Hilton Cabbages I started indoors back in March.

20180501_144146.jpg

20180501_144151.jpg

The above photos were all taken on May 1, 2018. The transplanting has since taken place! I will make a post on that soon. Thanks for stopping by!

Banner 4.jpg

Badges.jpg

Sort:  

I'm impressed! Your plants look very happy. Hope it is a very successful gardening year!

I like to think they're happy. I really have taken a lot of time to do things right this year. Thanks, @melinda010100!

Love seeing you take advantage of the world around you! I might be asking for some tips here in the future because my spouse and I are seriously considering purchasing a land to put a green-house and garden on, and hopefully move to eventually!
What's your favorite thing to grow and eat and then prepare in your kitchen?
Have a great day, keep making healthy choices and Steem on!

Thank you, @tacosandtequila! Be sure to share your experience if you do so!

I like stir-fried vegetables. A carrot can be pretty exciting to grow since they don't really like growing where I live. Haha!
Thanks so much!

I really like your little greenhouse! I remember you using it last fall. I like the way you reused that trailer frame for it, that was a good idea!

Thanks, @amberyooper! Nothing like a little ingenuity to make you feel good.

Love the recycled stock trailer idea! I liked looking at how your plants are doing, the cabbages look great!

Thanks so much, @nat-expressions. I feel like it's doing really well this year too!

Love the recycling of the stock trailor! it looking great in your green house ill keep me eye out for the transplant update 😀

Thanks, @digitaldan! I'll be getting to that post soon. :)

I'm so behind with the garden and everything this year... ugh

Our spring was literally 2 weeks late so I got a little extra time to get everything ready.

lol... well, my spring wasn't late at all, so that means I am even more behind :P

But then again, I am not in any way doing serious homesteading, I just grow a bunch of vegetables and herbs as a hobby.... so I guess I can get away with some slacking ;)

I like how you italicized herbs there. Wink wink. Haha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61227.58
ETH 3437.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56