You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Good News at The Miniature Smallholding

in #homesteading7 years ago

Congrats on the baby bunnies. They are so small it's unbelievable! Those Easter Egger hens are neat looking birds. We have 56 Easter Egger's they are my favorite chickens.

Thanks for using the #thegoodnews tag and congrats on your good news.
A successful birth! :)

Sort:  

Thank you. They are pretty miniscule! 😄
Now you're just trying to make me jealous. 56! You must get quite a rainbow of eggs. I don't have the room to keep any of these, but I'd love to see what their egg colours will be. They're a really sweet and curious bunch too.

Yes we sure do get a rainbow of eggs and a huge variety of egg sizes. We have a couple of birds who lay a greenish/bluish egg, a few that lay almost pink, a couple that lay pinkish/brown and some lay white eggs. I've seen online people have chickens that lay these awesome looking red eggs but I don't remember the breed.

Next on the list for us is "Silkies" My son keeps asking to get them. He even wanted a "Silkie" for his birthday or Christmas but we told him we would wait until spring.

Red! Wow! I'm going to have to look into that. I can probably guarantee we can't get them here though. Australia makes it prohibitively expensive to bring in new breeds.

My daughters would like silkies, but the the runs turn into mud pits in winter, no matter what I do. I'm hoping I can improve things over time though. I'd love to be able to breed something like a Svart Hona or Ayam Cemani using black silkie genes, as we can't get them here.

That would awesome! I remembered the breed that lays the red eggs.

Black Copper Maran is what they are called

I know of marans. I thought they were more of a chocolate coloured egg, although we mostly get wheaten marans here. Maybe that's why Black Copper ones are more sought after, not just because they're rare.

Yes I'm not sure! I don't know the availability of the Black Copper Marans!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60745.88
ETH 2640.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56