You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Golden Years

My dad had some arrowheads as well that he (or someone else in the family) found on their farm. Really neat!
Dementia and Alzheimer’s. My grandpa had it. I don’t really know what causes it, but I’m quite certain once they are put into a facility, it only gets worse. Between all the sugar filled foods on top of meds upon meds they hand out, it’s a recipe for disaster.
I wonder if some of the “shoving aside” has anything to do with kids not having much in common with their parents? His parents live minutes away from us, and my parents are only half hour away. Even though we don’t get along with them in all aspects, we still enjoy spending time with them. And now with being more self-reliant, we are learning more from /about them than we knew before.
What can we do to to get back to being human? We could “adopt” others as our family and learn to slow down and listen to each other.

Sort:  

That is a blessing to have them close enough you can step over to visit.
As a parent, I miss the seeing my kid and getting the visual of them, being states away I don't get to see them. Dealing with a spouse with Dementia along with all the other responsibilities here leaves me with not much time to actually visit folks. Some just don't understand the load it places.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68523.63
ETH 3260.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66