Seeds In The Mail!

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)


I received some seeds in the mail from @thefarmerswife yesterday. These originally came from @powellx5. Can’t wait to try something new next year :) So now who is next??

P.S. Drink every time I say “alright.” Lol...


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

howdy there hebrewhousewife! hey I saw birdhouse gourds on one of papa-pepper's videos, they can be cut out and used as bird houses but what's the deal with the seeds?
we're all supposed to know what the program is? where do they come from and what..you put you selection back in the package?

It’s called a seed carousel. You start with a package of seeds, send them around, and each person takes some and leaves some. I had never heard of seed carousels until I came to steemit.
I guess they are kind of a big deal here in the homesteading community. LOL!

oh ok hebrewhousewife thanks for explaining that to me. so you consider yourself to be a homesteader? and do you know the definition of a homesteader? I'm not clear on that, I guess I ain't because I don't have a garden.

Sorry janton, I was being a bit sarcastic in my last comment. I don’t really consider myself to be a homesteader, although I technically could be. If you look up the definition, a homestead is essentially just a farmyard. However, when people talk about homesteading, they’re referring to a self-sufficiency lifestyle. Basically what people from the 30’s called life. Lol

howdy back hebrewhousewife..oh ok.. yes I have thought that's what it meant..self-sufficiency lifestyle...no I'm way far off from that too but could make it ok since it doesn't get that cold here but what about you guys if the grid goes down in the winter up there?

do you have contingency plans?

Alright. That was a great video. Your potato recipe sounds delicious

Hahah :P Thanks. That is how my dad liked potatoes, so that was the only way we ate them until winter.

Now I want it back! Lol I love all your seeds! I’ll have to get some dill next year!

Lol if you ever give it a try, you’ll have to let me know what you think of it!

You know I might not have noticed the "alright" if you didn't point it out! Looks like you had some Baker Creek seeds...good choice I have had good luck with them so far! As for the potatoes...I agree, dill on potatoes is an excellent choice!

I couldn’t help but notice it lol!
There was a tomato seed variety that I bought from them that didn’t work out well, but I think it was because of our soil. Bummer. I’ll try a new one next year.
Ah! So I’m not the only one that eats potatoes that way.

Oooohh!!!! Hahahah

It's @powellx5's carousel! Lol that's awesome! I was actually the first one to get them!

Very nice! Count me in... One suggestion tho, no plastic packaging please.

No problem! Cardboard box ok?

But of course. We can compost, burn or reuse it!

Alright....Don't you just love seed sharing @hebrewhousewife?

I do! I did look up the birdhouse gourd one and I think that’ll make for a great project for the kids next year!

Wonderful to involve the children! They can learn and be rewarded by the harvest after hard work

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64149.44
ETH 3145.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53