You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Overwintering Spinach

in #homesteading6 years ago

Wow. Not bad!

Had you considered filling the oncovered space with leaves to form an insulation blanket? That may even work better than if you had that side covered with a shower door.

Our Brussel Sprouts that were growing too slowly have survived 0 degree F so far. Though a little frostbit! The sprouts are still only marble size.

But no, I would never have thought of doing this with Spinach!

Thanks!!

Sort:  

I plan on building a few proper cold frames and doing row covers this next season. Last year I was harvesting spinach the begging of April until late June and saved the seed once it bolted. I think I’d be able to harvest from February until June with the right planning and cover.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65826.04
ETH 3521.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49