You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Illness of Experts

I love hearing your account of a different upbringing. I was raised part of my childhood in the city and part in the country. However, I yearned for those heritage skills. Even when I was a child and teenager. I wanted to know how to survive. I do very much agree with you, homesteading and survival skills are very different and both are very important. I am only just beginning my survival skill journey. I do know what I can eat in my wild landscape and that's a start. I can make medicine and I can find water. I can build a very rudimentary shelter in a pinch...but I am excited to go deeper this year. I agree, if and when there is no access to internet (for me perhaps even by choice in the next 5 years) having written and living knowledge will be so important. I have started to write down everything. Although in an emergency I would have to rely on memory, I have that store of knowledge available to bury and come back for if needed. I find the perspective of seeing people who want security no matter the contingency as being extremists so peculiar. I don't live my life in fear. Quite the opposite...I love my life and exercising these skills so much and do so from a place of respect for tradition and culture. The fact that I am prepared is a beautiful bonus, which I value so very much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58068.07
ETH 3133.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44