Name the calf contest!

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

rosies new calf needs a  name.png

Two days ago we brought home a precious soul to join our family. She was an orphan calf from a local organic dairy, and our own sweet Rosie lost her calf and was heart broken. This little girl came to everyone’s rescue, mending a broken mamas heart (and a broken homesteader’s heart). So far I have been calling this precious thing Little Girl. And as sweet as she is, she needs a name.

On our homestead our calves are named after herbs and our cows (if they come to us as adults) are named after flowers.
So, following our naming tradition, we need to pick a herb inspired name for this little lady.

And…I am looking for your help with suggestions!

Send me your herb inspired names for this little one in the comments below.

You have until Tuesday (the 27th) at 10 pm to submit your suggestions.

The winning name entrant will receive half of this post’s payout (so make sure to upvote and resteem). If two people select the same name, the payout will be divided in two. (only the first two to suggest a name will receive the payout) It is in your interest to submit an original name.

The winning name will be shared Wednesday morning (the 21st).

I can’t wait to hear all of your suggestions!

To help you along, here are some details about this little lady…

  • She was born Feb 9th 2018
  • She is a Brown Swiss, Hereford cross
  • She is a reddish brown now, but her coat will darken as she ages
  • She is a milk breed and will remain on the homestead and join our milk herd
  • She was born near the Pembina River near Dapp, AB

I appreciate you helping us celebrate this little life with ideas for her name.
From my home fire to yours, hai hai

Harvard to Homestead.png

Sort:  

My name suggestion for your cute goat is Ginger, it is ideal because it is reddish and the grass has that name although it is not red, ginger has many medicinal benefits and its a cute name lets be honest!

Lovage!

If two people select the same name, the payout will be divided in two.

Is it just me or is this too easy to cheat on? :)

That’s a perfect name for a calf that’s runnin’ around, mendin’ broken hearts!!

Let me be the first to suggest this sweet little one's name, how about Tulsi 💖🤞

My version of Daisy. Beautiful flower name!

I have two names, I am not sure which one to enter so I will enter them both. Chamomile, or Cammy for short. (which you probably know chamomile helps milk production)

The second name is Lavender and it is soothing and a very loving type herb.

I am sorry for your loss, however I am also happy that you and Rosie have another little one.

I'm gonna say Thyme.

It's Thyme to milk!

Pembina River eh? We must live within a couple hours of each other I would think.

Yes I think so :) It seems there are a bunch of us within an hour's drive of the city. Are you guys still working in the city?

I am still working in the city. Aimee was mostly working from home doing graphic design but she is doing very little now that we have the twins.

Congratulations @harvardhomestead! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13