Upside Down Fire

This is my first attempt at an upside-down fire.

The theory is that smaller coals from above drop in between the wedged bigger wood below and have a long slow burn.

I've Loved building fire since I was a kid and this seems so counter-intuitive. I'm always curious to learn more.

Welcoming a little bit cooler California weather. It dropped below 60 degrees.
Lol. Survival time.

https://s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/partiko.io/img/happymoneyman-upside-down-fire-irqfg13q-1538762513345.png

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Makes sense.... I have never really utilized this concept.

worked great. nice

Upside down fires are great! Did my first one outside last year, cooked on it first then enjoyed the warth and not having to move to put more wood on for the evening! We had a book and saw it in there, we followed instructions which sad to also fill the gaps between the pieces of wood with clay or mud, this way it burns even slower because mo air comes up from the bottom 😀 Congrats!!

ahhh cool. I hadn't seen that technique. I'll try it outdoor sometime. Thanks

Apparently it smokes less too. I'm surprised you can have a wood fire in California still.

I'll be the last standing when they try to take wood stoves away... but yea, I won't be suprised

yes, it did smoke less. I didn't fill my house with smoke trying to start it because the small fire gently heated the chimney until there was a good updraft to handle the extra smoke. Worked great

Nice try in the first attempt so cool nice shot there :)

yes, i was surprised it worked so nice. lovely day

sir happymoneyman! how interesting, for some reason I've never heard of this method before but did it work?

It's probably my millionth fire, but my first this way. It worked great. What a surprise

sir happymoneyman! well sir... I think you should try out for Survivor don't you think? I mean you got the look, the fire making skills and the hat. You'd be famous and think of the posts that would come out of that! lol.

hahaha yes. It would be a nightmare being on TV though. Maybe one show, but not for a month

oh wow sir happymoneyman I thought you were probably a Type A and an extrovert! lol. I feel the same way. With the camera in your face all the time no matter how terrible you look in the morning...haha, no way. A month without shaving...

do you only use fire to heat up your home? how's Ren doing btw? :)

No, I have a heater, but I burn wood as often as possible. Ren is good. Taking some time offline

I think this is an incredible idea! It is very counter intuitive. Did it work well? Today we are camping in Wisconsin and it is rainy and 50's but I built a rocket stove out of bricks!

P.s. this would look great under the tag #ghsc

It worked. Crazy. It's still burnin nice and slow

How is it upside down?

Posted using Partiko Android

generally fires have the small kindling on bottom, with progressively larger wood stacked or tee peed above it. The has the small wood at the top with heavy wood at the bottom

Ah got it!

Posted using Partiko Android

Well...
I'll be darn @happymoneyman.
I have been burning wood all my life and I have never tried this.....!!!!!!
But am so going to give it a whirl..
(:
Lol...
dropped below 60 degrees..survival time

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99