It's an invasion!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading7 years ago

IMG_20171102_173640 (2).jpg

Every fall, like an invading army, before the weather starts turning cold the ladybugs will swarm looking for a warmer place. For about a week they are everywhere by the thousands or millions. They are on the sides of the out buildings, in the out buildings, and in our home. At times you can hardly work outside because they are constantly landing on you. And yes they can bite. When going inside you must check your clothes to make sure you are not carrying them with you.

IMG_20171102_173809 (2).jpg

The other insect is the parasitic wasp which eats the ladybugs, but the wasp can only get a few. As annoying as this all is, it is an interesting phenomenon. I am just glad it does not last for very long.

IMG_20171102_173550 (2).jpg

Thanks for reading and up voting.

Our “An American Homestead” family on Steemit:
Grandpa and Grandma: @hansjugen
Daughter, son-in-law: @mericanhomestead
Grandson #1: @thehomeschoolkid
Grandson #2: Someday

For more articles and videos on off-grid homesteading and on-line store visit https://anamericanhomestead.com/ also
https://www.patreon.com/AnAmericanHomestead

Sort:  

Hi @hansjurgan your pictures are awesome and very is very good post too great is your pictures I liked

This year has been the lowest amount of them up to this point. They are still getting in the last of the soybeans in my area and there are still some corn up as well. I guess I'll see what the next few weeks looks like!

I remember years ago when I lived about 100 miles north of where I am now and we had those ladybugs or beetles. THEY WERE EVERYWHERE!
My daughters would use the vacuum and suck them up. It was awful!

They were like a growth on the outside of my farmhouse. I don't miss them at all. But this year we were swarmed upon by box elder bugs! Just as bad... sigh

HAHA...yeah I have used a vacuum before. They stink when you squish them!

Woah this is quite an interesting occurrence. I didn't know ladybugs could bite or even become so intrusive! Thanks for sharing.

Wow you've got some bugs there! I've never seen so many ladybugs in one place. I was always told it was unlucky to kill them. I guess because it's so novel we can have such superstitions.

Ah! Thank you for enlightening me on who the wasps were! I noticed them and was wondering why they were appearing as well.

We just posted our own video about the ladybug/asian lady beetle invasion in our house, and I feel like I took just about the same window picture as you, haha!

Hubs & I lived in an old trailer while in college, out in the country. I remember looking outside one afternoon, seeing a swarm of 'something' flying at us. Then, seeing this mass of things pelting our trailer. Not long after, the ladybugs began crawling in the edges of the windows etc. Little did we know, they actually released them by plane where we were, to aid with taking care of other insect pests. Released by the millions. This was in SE Ohio. They aren't released (that we know of) in our current location in Ohio, but we still see them coming in this time of year, little by little, as well. I find them where I least expect them too. lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63042.11
ETH 3047.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91