I hate this saw

in #homesteading6 years ago

IMG_20180219_143705.jpg

I hate this jig saw. Every time I use it, I swear I will throw it away and buy a new one. You cannot make a nice cut if you tried, and the blade is constantly falling out of the roller guide. It is not too bad if you cut 1/8 inch material or sheet metal, but if you cut ¾ inch plywood, forget it. The only good thing I can say about this saw is that the blade is easy to change.

I paid $29.95 (it was on sale) for this saw so I guess that old saying is true, “You get what you pay for.” Do you have any recommendation for a good jig saw?

Have a great day and thanks for your up-vote, Tim and Joann

Sort:  

We have the Bosch and really like it. But saw Milwaukee has a cordless one. We have a lot of the Milwaukee cordless power tools that we really like too.

I second both brands mentioned here.

:D very nice post. Love it.

I use Skill jigsaw. Works for me just fine.

1.jpg

No recommendations on a specific one, but what we do is look up reviews online and compare. I hope you find one that serves it's purpose a little better!

I don't have any recommendations because my skills with a jigsaw are so deficient. Anything I cut looks like I did it with a chainsaw.

Haha, we have some tools like that, that we hate...
We have a black and decker, and it is okay, but you get what you pay for....
I would recommend looking on amazon and reading the reviews of different models. There are loads of people on there who let you know how it is.

Before you dispose of the saw, get a good hollow ground blade for it, and try one more time. Also, these saws are not intended to be a primary saw. They are designed to make scroll cuts, not long straight ones. With a good blade, this saw might surprise you.

The problem you can get into with brand names is the so much of the World is sub contracting to China. China has Zero Quality control, and they make mostly garbage, as a result. I recently bought a DVD player from Sony to avoid China manufacture. When I unpacked it, I noticed two things, it only had a 90 day warranty, and it was made in China! It lasted about 6 months....

It is not my primary saw. The problem is that the blade falls out of the guide roller so it will not make cut a perpendicular to the surface. Thanks for your comment.

I just had the exact same problem, and found out that the blade was the wrong blade for the saw. It seemed to fit, but when it hit wood, the blade pulled out. Your saw looks just like mine. I found it is made for a T Type blade. When I got the right blade, it worked well. I still have the bad blades, here is a picture.

20180308_004627.jpg

The one on the top is the T type blade, the bottom is the one that locks in, but won't stay.

I will try it.

Best of luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66254.46
ETH 3319.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69