Homestead Hack - Making a paint brushes last

in #homesteading6 years ago

IMG_20171116_151918.jpg

When we lived in the city I would buy expensive paint brushes and clean them really well after every use. You can make good paint brush last a long time. However, when living off-grid it is really hard to clean a paint brush without lots of running water. Now I buy cheap brushes from one of the dollar stores (I think brushes from Family Dollar are better). To make your brush last, clean it to get most of the paint out then dip the brush in a can of water until the next time you need it. Your brush will last for months. If you have a paint brush used for oil base paint, clean the brush, and store it in mineral spirits.

For those of you with electricity and running water, clean your brush really well, rub a little dish soap into the bristles, shape the brush, and let it dry. This can make your expensive brush last a long time. If you have oil base paint and need it for a day or two. Wrap the brush in a wet paper towel and place it in the freezer. The brush will last until you can clean the brush properly.

Cheers and thanks for your up-vote, Tim and Joann

Sort:  

You are so FULL of knowledge, I really need to make time to read all of your posts!

I know he is a veritable font of information.

Nice! We are currently painting....alot haha. I am definately going to try the dish soap trick. Thank you.

Another good hack Tim great post. Resteemed

I dated a man once who was a "fine art" painter. His house always smelled of chemicals. If you put your oil based paint brush in the freezer, wouldn't everything smell like turpentine (at least that was what Jon was using to clean his brushes)?

I did not use turpentine. I just left the paint in the brush and froze it. It never froze hard and was good for the next day.

Good to know! Thanks @hansjurgen!

Thanks Tim...I am reminded of a couple of verses.

Proverbs 1:5 - A wise man will hear and increase learning, And a man of understanding will attain wise counsel
Proverbs 13:20 - He who walks with wise men will be wise, But the companion of fools will be destroyed.

Keep this information coming, that way we that are younger can learn from you!

Thanks for the awesome tips!

I had no idea!!
It irks me to throw away paint brushes, so I wash and wash them.
Ill have to try it your way, this sounds so much better!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62487.83
ETH 3340.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46