Have you ever seen this before?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading7 years ago

IMG_20131223_075930 (2).jpg

Living in the Ozark Mountains there always seems to be something interesting to see that perhaps is over looked by others. Each year when the first hard freeze occurs, we see an interesting phenomenon. Joann and I have lived most of our lives in warmer climates were it seldom freezes—California, Florida, Texas, and even in the South Pacific for a number of years. Our move to NW Arkansas is the furthest north we have ever lived so we find this fascinating.

It occurs when the ground gets cold and the warmer water vapor escapes making ice formations as it freezes.

IMG_20131223_082011 (2).jpg

IMG_20131223_082033 (2).jpg

IMG_20141114_104514 (2).jpg

IMG_20141114_104520 (2).jpg

Each day is a new adventure and I trust that I never become so accustomed to my surroundings that I fail to see examples of God’s creation which is happening all around us.

Sort:  

They're called frost flowers. The really pretty ones that grow on super-soggy wood are considered to be a rare to find. They are gorgeous. The ground heave is pretty common here in western Washington state where it rains a lot but I've only seen the ones on wood a few times.

You got some really nice pictures. I've had trouble getting anything worth showing anyone. They reflect the light so well (like snow) in comparision to the ground around them I end up just getting a white blob. It makes me sad that they're usually gone by the time the sun hits them but then, that makes it more fascinating when you do find them, eh?

Yes that first freeze of the season can really show you some beautiful and picturesque moments.

I love when the first snowfall happens and all is silent in the surrounding world. So peaceful and serene.

Tim, I live farther north of you in Illinois and I have never seen that before! Thanks for sharing the pictures.

Beautiful works of art by our Creator are all around us if we open our eyes to see them, Thank You for sharing them!

Wow! I'm gonna have to see this some day! I've never seen it here in Colorado!

Tagging @dwells for the contest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57979.07
ETH 3124.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36