Controlling Mites in the hen house

in #homesteading6 years ago

IMG_20171203_081410 (2).jpg

Mites or lice can be major problem in the hen house. I have never experienced these parasites, maybe because we are fortunate or because I am proactive. Mites or lice can occur at any time and once they get started they are hard to get rid of.

We have never had mites so I will not claim any great knowledge on how to get rid of them. I take a six step approach to prevent mites and lice.

One: Sick birds are prone to having mites, so if I see a bird not doing well I get rid of it. Sick birds do not take care of themselves. They don’t eat enough nor take a dust bath. This poor girl's comb is blue which means that she has poor circulation.

IMG_20180122_103524.jpg

Two: I regularly inspect the chickens for mites by checking under their wings and around their vent hole. At night is a good time, but I usually check for lice and mites during the butchering process.

IMG_20180211_082137.jpg

Three: I make sure they have ample opportunity for taking a dust bath. Our birds free range so they find plenty places to bathe. Like under trees or in the dry dirt under our front deck.

IMG_20180207_132344_1.jpg

Four: I do not allow any chicken to roost in a nest box. Overnight they will poop in the box and a dirty box can breed mites.

Five: When I freshen up their nesting boxes with wood chips, I mix in a small handful of diatomaceous earth (DE) and a hand full of wood ash.

IMG_20180216_141727.jpg

Six: I do not introduce chickens from other people into my flock. It is too risky. If a need arises, I have a special coop just for the purpose of keeping foreign birds quarantined until they are returned to the owner or I butcher them.

IMG_20171015_124235.jpg

I trust this is helpful. As for treating mites or lice, I will leave it to the experts to tell us what to do.

Have a great day and thanks for your up-vote, Tim and Joann

Sort:  

I don't think I've ever really looked for mites! But my girls seem really healthy and take dust baths all the time. I'll certainly start using the diatomaceous earth and ash trick though... sounds like a good use for all the extra i've got ( ;

Good info. Raising chickens is a real blessing, especially if they are healthy. Taking a few preventative steps like you are saying sure makes it easier.

That's really great information. Being proactive looks like it is paying off well.

Great info!
We also have never had to deal with this issue, for the same reasons as you, I think. The birds free range, so they are super healthy,and we keep a close eye on them to keep them that way.
DE and wood ash are fantastic tools to keep the nasties away!
Thanks for sharing!

Nice article. Upvote, resteem, and followed. God bless you as you follow Him.

Prevention is worth a pound of cure. Being proactive is the only way to go!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67551.75
ETH 3252.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65