Brooding Chicks Off-Grid

in #homesteading6 years ago

IMG_20140827_160535.jpg

My preference is to let my hens incubate and brood their chicks. They do a better job than I could ever do and it is a lot less work. However, from to time it is necessary to buy chicks to replenish the flock. This presents a major problem when you do not have electricity. There is a lot of information available, but it each method I found requires electricity so I looked at history. What did farmers do before electricity? Answer, they used kerosene. I looked for an antique kerosene heater, but they are too expensive.

heater.JPG

I use my kerosene lanterns for a heat source. I mount the lantern to a board so the chicks cannot tip it over (that would be a Bad thing). With a small flame there is enough to provide adequate heat for the chicks. Caution should be exercised not to spill kerosene when filling the lamps. Just a small amount of kerosene will kill your chicks.

IMG_20140818_143015.jpg

I have 30 gallon plastic totes for the 10-15 chicks and place the kerosene lantern inside along with a small drinker and feeder. The lantern will provide temperatures 10-15 degrees above the ambient temperature.

IMG_20140820_201147.jpg

To regulate the heat and provide ventilation I use aluminum flashing which can be moved back and forth to keep the chicks comfortable. I never cover the tote completely because it is important to allow kerosene fumes to escape.

IMG_20140821_173317.jpg

At night and on cooler days, I keep the chicks in the house but on warm days, I put them out side on the deck. When the night time temperatures are around 70 degrees, the chicks are ready to go outside, so I assemble a brooder in the chicken coop. I use two or three lanterns at night to keep them warm for the next several weeks.

IMG_20140828_064858.jpg

The next step is to integrate them into the rest of the flock when they are old enough.

Have a great day! Every comment is up-voted to show our appreciation and thanks for your up-vote, Tim and Joann

Sort:  

Interesting to see the kerosene lamp. As long as there is ventilation available, it sounds like a good idea. A nice mild heat source.
Thanks for sharing.

Looks like you kept them warm and happy. You will have some good layers in no time .🐓🐓

Thank you for sharing your knowledge! This post has been added to our growing directory of Steemit "how to" posts for the Homesteading/Survival/Foraging/Prepper communities. Your post is helping people learn to survive and thrive now and in the future!

Thank you for the post, looks like it works just fine, just watch those fumes!

I remember seeing your video about this on American Homestead.
What a neat way to do it. I have to admit, it DOES make me nervous though, as a fire hazard. I like how the chicks cant knock it over though, so the risk should be pretty low.
Thanks for sharing! Useful for off-grid people, and for if you are brooding chicks and there happens to be an extended power outage.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63572.67
ETH 3086.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86