A trip to buy used lumber

in #homesteading7 years ago

IMG_20171204_103932 (2).jpg

Last week I made a trip to buy used lumber. Their business is basically a junk yard for old demolished chicken barns. However, it's a great place to get deals on used lumber.

IMG_20171204_094104.jpg

This trip I got 2x4x20 foot pieces for $4.00 each. My project calls for 6 and 7 foot long lumber so I had to cut the lumber to size so it would fit in my truck.

IMG_20171204_102754 (2).jpg

Once loaded I headed for home. Just as I turned on to our road and came around the bend I came to a standstill. A house was stuck in the middle of the road. You never what to expect.

IMG_20171204_120137 (2).jpg

It took me an extra hour to get home, taking the back roads. But the lumber is stacked ready for my new project. I plan on building an extension on the hen house to make a bigger run. Weather permitting I hope to have it finished before spring.

IMG_20171204_145955 (2).jpg

Cheers, Tim and Joann

                     ************************

Our “An American Homestead” family on Steemit:
Grandpa and Grandma: @hansjurgen
Daughter, son-in-law: @mericanhomestead
Grandson #1: @thehomeschoolkid
Grandson #2: Someday

For more articles and videos on off-grid homesteading and our on-line store visit https://anamericanhomestead.com/ also
https://www.patreon.com/AnAmericanHomestead

Sort:  

Nice source of lumber and good prices, too. Looks like the chickens are going to get a nice upgrade judging by the amount of lumber I see.

That was a heckuva roadblock! Glad you were able to detour around it.

Oh MAN

What a deal on lumber! I recently had to purchase lumber to build the deck for our tent and wowza lumber is expensive!!! If there was a place to get it used down here I would be all over it!

Great deal on the lumber, if you need any coated chicken wire let me know. I have some that is in pretty good shape that came from a chicken house near our house.

Really good lumber for that price!

I need a place to get some used lumber! Looking forward to seeing the progress on the run.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62852.17
ETH 2463.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64