A Sleeping Fox Catches no Poultry

in #homesteading6 years ago

29d14y.jpg

I saw this quote recently and it got me thinking. Can any successful homesteader or farmer be lazy? There is always something to do from sunrise to sundown. It does not mean you have to work yourself to death, but you cannot afford to put things off for another day.

I do not want to be too critical of the person I perceive to be lazy because everyone is different. It is just that it is hard for me to relate to a lazy person. My neighbor calls me an over achiever, but I just have the need to get things done and make our homestead better today than it was yesterday.

Have a great day! Every comment is up-voted to show our appreciation and thanks for your up-vote, Tim and Joann.

Sort:  

There is never a dull moment. I call my husband crisis management. If it's not the daily chores, there's some kind of fixing to be done right now! I enjoy the variety of life homesteading brings. Never a day the same.

Laziness is as laziness does. Are things getting done that need to be done? That man is productive in his day. Are things being let go that are important? That man will be plundered.

I went by the field of the slothful, and by the vineyard of the man void of understanding; And, lo, it was all grown over with thorns, and nettles had covered the face thereof, and the stone wall thereof was broken down. Then I saw, and considered it well: I looked upon it, and received instruction. Yet a little sleep, a little slumber, a little folding of the hands to sleep: So shall thy poverty come as one that travelleth; and thy want as an armed man. Proverbs 24:30-34

@ironshield

I considered using that verse as well. I am glad you did.

I am like you, just want to improve the homestead day by day. So I work as hard as I can for as long as I can, then I am on the couch asleep. :)) But slowly, very slowly, over time the homestead does get better and better.

I am usually in bed by 9:30 pm and up at 6:30 am.

I am usually up by 4AM and can be in bed anytime from 6:30PM on, depending on how exhausted I am...

There always seems to be something to do no matter how large or small the homestead is!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94