Sweet Potato Chews Healthy Treat

in #homesteading7 years ago

Yesterday due to extreme cold temperatures my bag of sweet potatoes froze. Rather than seeing this as waste I decided to turn it into opportunity and I sliced and dehydrated them to use as a healthy treat for my dog Roxy.
If you missed the first post regarding the preparation and details in dehydrating you can check that out here
https://steemit.com/homesteading/@hangryginger/my-sweet-potatoes-froze-and-my-dog-is-spoiled

This is what the finished Sweet Potato Chews look like. They didn't take quite as long as I'd expected them to take.. was only about 12 hrs to dehydrate.

DSC_0162.JPG

They look really good and have just 1 ingredient, sweet potato. And Roxy thinks there great too! Staying put and not taking the treat while I took a picture was pure torture for her but she managed to survive and enjoyed a reward for her effort! She tends to not chew her food cause she's a hungry girl just like me but these she actually chewed them! Not sure if it's cause they're a bit thick and firm?

DSC_0165.JPG

As per request by @jerryt I was asked to taste test them myself also. And my review is they taste just like a sweet potato, hahaha! :P Honestly though I would consider making myself a version of these and slice them thinner, maybe using my spiralizer? And toss in enough extra virgin olive oil to make a touch of salt or other seasoning stick. Make it like a healthy sweet potato chip?

Thanks for having checking out the finished dog treats! Enjoy your evening everyone :)

Sort:  

Looks awesome :) Roxy is adorable!

Thank you! She is very patient to wait for her photo with that treat in front of her :P

Looks supertasty indeed, maybe some salt as you mentioned :)

Thanks Roxy is a big fan :)

I knew they would be good, and the chip idea is spot on. I'm going to have try some.

Also sweet potato hash browns are my favorite way to eat them, add a pinch of cayenne pepper. Makes a fat boy smile.

Nothing wrong with sweet potatoes, it's the stuff that gets added to them that can be the deal breaker. ie) piles of butter or oil, sour cream, cheese etc. Your hash browns sound completely innocent and delicious :)

That's something you were not expecting yesterday. Roxy is now got used to photo session and knows that she will be published on Steemit Platform, that's why showing much patience. Thanks for sharing. ☺️☺️

Have a great day and stay blessed.

Hahaha... I love that, thanks for the laugh :)

Thank you and welcome. ☺️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61048.59
ETH 2372.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54