We moved back to Canada and We’re Homesteading!

in #homesteading7 years ago

Welcome to How to Homestead with Scarlett!

We did it! We moved to Canada! We found a beautiful property. It’s 22 acres officially, although the deed says 30. It’s got an old house build in 1840 and a little tiny house cottage. But both dwellings are not really liveable at the moment. So we’ve got lots of renovating to do in out future.

We converted an old shack into a chicken coop / barn for the chickens, ducks and our new miniature horse Russel. There are two other barns on the property that were also built way back in 1840. So there's a lot of history here which I really really like. It’s a very hilly property. It has six ridges going to the back. And we’re sandwiched between the lake and the road. There's a bunch of big maple sugar farms around and I’ll be building a sugar shack and tapping our maple trees hopefully early next year. I’m super excited about that!

I have to apologise. I’m really sorry that I’ve been gone for almost a year now. I know, I did post one or two things this fall and a bit in the summer and I was intending on posting more but life got in the way. Trying to find this property and all the things that are involved in that and of course moving from Germany to Canada and trying to settle in and get to know the area again… It’s been quite a ride. We didn’t end up at the this homestead until late September and even here, since the tiny house cottage is currently only good as a three season dwelling things are still a bit up in the air.

Oh a happier note: I have a miniature horse. His name is Russell. He’s 4 years old and very playful. You’re going to love him! We finally have chickens and ducks again! I’m getting a few baby pigs, goats and sheep in the spring (right after I build their new shelters and a barn).

I will be building lots of raised beds this spring and harvesting and canning and preserving everything I grow. I’m also learning how to bake bread in the wood stove! So, essentially all of that equals homesteading Right!?

Lets see: Animals, self sufficiency, off-grid living, heating with wood, solar electricity, growing and preserving ones own food… Yep sounds like homesteading to me!

Instead of putting all this ‘Homesteading stuff’ onto my How To Grow a Garden channel (which is really all about gardening and I want to keep it ‘pure’ garden related only). I’ve started a new channel called How to Homestead with Scarlett!!

I hope you will continue to join me on this journey. There will be a lot of cool thing coming. I plan to put out one video every Wednesday at 11 o’clock in the morning and I think we can do that all through the winter too.

Thank you so much for subscribing, watching and following this crazy life of mine!

Join me on my newest channel How to Homestead: www.youtube.com/HowToHomesteadWithScarlettDamen

Thanks for watching, I’ll see you in the next episode
Scarlett

Sort:  

This is so cool! I'm going to watch with my wife for sure. Keep up me up to dait! Following.

thanks i will keep you updated

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66331.68
ETH 2720.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87