You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Our Farmstead Journey Part 3: Finding a Way to Make it Pay

in #homesteading7 years ago

Fantastic story. Amazing that you were able to hustle your way out of your situation. If you ever want to talk about microgreens, I used to grow and sell them commercially to high end restaurants in San Diego and I still grow them for myself and friends. It's a fantastic business model as the margins are quite high, but that always assumes that you can actually offload all of the product that you grow which is usually the bigger problem!

Sort:  

Yeah and I'm still hustling! As for the micros, just when I think I've got them figured out the weather drops and now it seems as though they're stunted. Guess we'll have to come up with a new strategy for the winter.

Yeah, best temperature is about 70°F, moderate sunlight, decent airflow and ~50% humidity. Mold and either spindly or stretchy growth are the biggest problems with microgreens...I've lost tray after tray to either mold or spindly growth :(.

Also experiment with light positioning, if you're growing under artificial lighting!

Right on. That's what I figured. I think we need to either bring them inside or do some sort of a double greenhouse with heat mats. I'll keep ya posting on what we end up doing.

Definitely do, I am living vicariously through you as my microgreen operation is small right now :)

Everyone's got to start somewhere. The good thing about micros is you can get quite a lot of return off a relatively small space. We're gonna have to move our operation inside for the winter and all our micros will be produced via a tower system. I'll try and do a write-up on it soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58431.17
ETH 2653.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44