You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bug control on the Homestead

in #homesteading7 years ago

Interesting technique! I've never had a problem with earwigs, but I had no idea that they'd be lured in by olive oil and soy! I guess the soy for the sweetness (the true lure), and the olive oil to get them stuck?

I'm dealing with cabbage moths right now, both the Pieris rapae and Pieris brassiceae species. I'm going to have to pick up some BT var. kurstaki to deal with it :(

Sort:  

BT seems to be the only way to deal with cabbage moths unless you have a class cloche covering them. Your guess is correct regarding the soy/oil combo. One gets them in and the other one keeps them there.

Yeah, I have tried 'nicer' methods. It's time to bring out the big guns now.

Good luck

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 60880.00
ETH 2626.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57