You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 12 Ideas On How I Will Make An Income From Homesteading

in #homesteading7 years ago

Don't forget about microgreens - super easy to grow, usually a good market for them in most areas, and the margins are incredible...provided you can sell the product.

I used to sell them in my area to high-end restaurants and made a pretty penny for a while!

Sort:  

Microgreens are totally on my radar. Arkansas has some wonky food laws, so I'd have to find my way around those, but I'm sure it can be done. Not much of a high-end restaurant market in Arkansas, unfortunately. Little Rock and Fayetteville would be the two closest cities that even have them, and they are 2+ hours away. I'm thinking I'd have to do a lot of volume for those trips to be worth it.

My county, Yell, has a population of 22,000 and we are a dry county with no alcohol sales. Same with Pope County next door, so without wine or alcohol sales its harder for those types of restaurants to operate. What I'll be looking for is maybe partnering up with someone else local and adding to what they are offering. That'll just take some time to do some networking to figure out how to sell some microgreens or other produce.

With the food rules to work through, I'm really looking at non-food items to help me get started. The flowers and plant starts and birdhouses and the like, I can sell at farmers markets or flea markets without much hassle. And while I'm giving that a try I can hopefully meet other vendors and find someone to work with and supplement their products to both our benefits. Sounds good in theory, anyway.

With the pigs, I can pre-sell them and have them butchered at a USDA facility and its all good. Same with any meat product in the state. There are at least three small independent processing shops nearby I've found, luckily for me there is lots of deer meat being processed during the season. Eggs will be more of a by-product and I can sell all of my extras to friends and relatives, but there'd be more rules if I were selling those to the general public.

Now you've got me thinking I should at least get started with some microgreens just for my own personal use and any extra going to the livestock. Then if the opportunity arises I'll be more ready with some experience. I really appreciate the suggestion. Oh, I just found your YouTube channel also, so I've got another great source of info and ideas I need to look at. Hydroponics has always fascinated me also, there might be something I can pull it that area also. Thanks for contributing!!!

Microgreens are great as a test, for sure. Glad to hear you are also thinking about eggs - lots of good info out there on how to produce eggs at relatively low cost. Thanks for checking out the YouTube channel...appreciate that!

Wishing you the best of luck in anything - feel free to hit me up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57740.57
ETH 3127.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33