Where and when

in #homesteading7 years ago

Next Year, I am going to do it next year.

I think plans always start by saying this to your self, its almost like the half arsed promise to your self that you will do something different. Its like when you lie awake at night and decide tomorrow you will do it, until tomorrow comes and you find your self without the motivation.

The many times I've found myself doing it over and over again is scary when I think back, how can so much enthusiasm just vanish over night? Its almost like I commit my self to failing by never committing, that was always the case for me until this year. 2017 for me has been about the late night plans getting formed and committing to them the next morning, A year of difference and change both positive and and sometimes negative, but trying new and different things non the less.

So I have found my self now wanting to re visit an old goal/idea of mine, in a word its pretty much just homesteading / self sustainable living. I Feel the largest barrier to entry on something like this is naturally finances, then closely followed by time, both will be available in limited to moderate supply.

So far we have managed to establish on the negative side of things, I am relatively poor, sub £10,000 in liquid assets and I have only a reasonable amount of time each week to dedicate to this project as I need to work still.
On the positive side of things i'm flexible as hell, capable of doing all major work my self and not in a rush to be retiring to a homestead.

So with a look towards building something that in five to ten years I can move over too, I am starting to formulate plans and put ideas together. For location, I am unbelievably flexible and willing to relocate to anyplace that has potential the biggest issue would be land cost so ideally someplace cheap (I have considered Hungary due to the cost of land there but the USA attracts me more) I want to be allowed to keep small livestock, and grow a reasonable amount of crops. so a decent plot size will be needed as will access to local building supplies.

I love the idea of having forest surrounding me offering seclusion and isolation, but still would need to be able to be part of civilisation if i can. I guess im aiming to become a semi hermit, a digitally connected recluse if i could.

So far all I am doing is looking and formulating ideas and waiting for the right thing, as I work away and save up. Putting all my ideas together in trying to formulate a plan I can stick to so this is not like every other next year I will, promise.

With all that in mind, I would love to hear about your own exploits. How did you all get started, why did you all make the choices you did, what pitfalls are they along the way, what would you do different if you could start again?

Anyway if you made it this far through my incoherent ramblings please do share with me your thoughts and opinions, good or bad and send me a link to your own blog on homesteading or self sufficiency.

Sort:  

I'm also saving a lot as I have some big dreams. One of them is to get a motorcycle, other one to get a van and travel the world, but as you said I also want a home somewhere in the woods, away from people. But yeah living like this forever it's pretty hard but I would definitely try this. I always had adventure, nature, wild places into my blood, I can't really understand people neither they can as I am very different. But keep on working your dreams! :)

I can definitely relate to just wanting to jump in a van and take a bike with me, exploring the world with the basic living needs met, yet still having a home base to return to when needed. unfortunately for me I have a few more years of saving before I have that much freedom afforded to me. Here's to hoping that we both get to reach this point sooner rather than later.

Hope that too. :) Also, Happy Holidays!

Happy Holidays :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64870.15
ETH 3489.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54