You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: You Want Chickens! Here Are Some Things That You Will Need To Know!

in #homesteading7 years ago

Great post. Do you have any experience with chicken tractors? We're thinking of doing some meat birds next year and I would prefer to move them on pasture.

Sort:  

I do not have any experience with chicken tractors, sorry. The only thing with tractors I would worry about is predators getting in underneath the bottom rail of the tractor. There are many people that do nothing but chicken tractors. I would get a good herding dog to look out for them. Thank You for reading my post and the upvote. Have a good night!

That's what I'm afraid of. I've seen people wire the bottom as well but to me that kind of defeats the purpose. I've seen people use wooden slates, which is better but still...We do have a hard working cattle dog though so that should help with predators. Haven't seen a raccoon since we've been out here but I'm sure they're around

I have seen some with wire on the bottom, but how to move them with the chickens inside and not hurt the chickens is what I was wondering about. Not sure about the wooden slats either. I have seen them just leave the bottom open. Not really sure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60379.35
ETH 2434.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47