Easily Trimming Your Spending - Homestead Savings

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

Saving money is a keystone in the homesteading life and beyond. I want to share with you some ways that we work to save money in our daily lives. I'm calling this series

Homestead Savings

Article 1


Last night marked the milestone we reach every other month throughout the year -- haircut time! We're a family who likes short haircuts for the guys (myself, and my two sons). It's easier to manage, clean, and keeps us cooler in the hot months; though, we keep short haircuts throughout the year. My wife has been cutting my hair for at least the past 7 years, and our boys' since their birth.

My hair cutting conversion coincided with our move to another city after we bought our first home. My memory fails me on the reasons, but it's safe to assume it was for convenience and money... most likely. We also started dabbling in this new (to us) thing called Homesteading and learning what it was all about. Over the years, her talent increased to where I would never go elsewhere. She had my "cut" down pat and was much more pleasing to have around than a barber. Nothing against barbers, I just kind of like my wife.


Here's the fun part and the the reason you're here. I looked up the cost of a "cheap" haircut from a national barber shop. Their prices start at $13 for children and $15 for adults for the most basic haircut. Pricing will certainly vary by location, but I thought this was a good place to base my savings amount on for everyone. It is quite likely that your preferred shop would cost more!

Adding up the costs and figuring that we get our haircuts every other month, shows that we save at least $246 every year! To take this a step further, let's see how much we have saved since my wife started cutting my hair and then my boy's hair!


Holy cow! That's the cost of my truck!

Given... I drive an old 1995 Ford Ranger. But it's paid for and easy to fix! As you can see, doing just this small bit helps more and more over time!

It's worth mentioning why my wife is not included in this... I would NEVER attempt to cut her hair! Plus, I consider it a little of a reward for her work to get to treat herself to a salon whenever she needs. She's modest though, and usually only goes twice a year.


At the time of my first son's birth, we were already well into our DIY Haircut routine, so he never had a choice. Same for my second son. It's perfectly fine though. Given the choice I imagine they too, would pick Mommy over "some guy".

I've heard stories and seen videos online of kids freaking out at barber shops, or being horrible to deal with. I'm so glad that we never had to deal with that one! The worst is an antsy child, but a highchair works great to contain them and they can have toys to play with if needed. We do our boys' haircuts in the bathroom where it's an easy transition to the bathtub to clean them off.


This is our youngest while getting his hair cut last night. He did so well! This was his first time just sitting on a stool and was just perfect the whole time. It probably helped that Daddy was there taking pictures and playing to get him to smile for the camera and for Steemit! The blue stuff on his face is cake icing... mommy and boys baked a cake the other day as a part of my older son's impromptu cooking class at home. Never too early to start!

Did you like this? Want to see more Homestead Savings?

Smash that UpVote and leave us a comment!

We love hearing from our followers and knowing if we are on the right track for giving you great, original content!


We'll see you in the comments below and on the next post!

Until then, @greenacrehome

Sort:  

Flowbee to the rescue!

So long as it's not the Suck Kut! LOL

Source: https://static.avforums.com/data/ytle/_b/_b4Z5Kg08PY/hqdefault.jpg

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by greenacrehome from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Yes! DIY to the rescue for saving money. Awesome. I started cutting (thanks to a helpful YouTuber sharing how to do it) and coloring my own hair years ago. It's also nice not to have to find time to fit in a trip to the salon. Fun post. Thank you, @greenacrehome!

For sure, very convenient at home! Thanks!

A subject I'm interested in...
Nice graphics...
Up-voted & followed

Great! I'd say follow us to see our next post, but you beat me to it! :-) Thanks @truthxchange

I love home haircuts! Until the bangs get crooked and need correcting, of course :) "A little more on the left, now a little more on the right, and oh wait, a little more off the left..." Great tips - keep them coming!

So glad to hear you like these, we'll do! Thanks!

okay how in the world does everyone get such pretty posts. I can not figure it out for the life of me. We are still working on our logo but besides that how do you customize posts?!?!?!

I can't say for others, but can for mine... maybe it's post-worthy to show how I create them??? A few images (like my logo separator bar) I created myself, others I use a little online image tool to create. Then my post text is edited with HTML codes to make them sized/centered/bold, etc...

Correction: All images unless noted with something like "Source:......" I create myself.

Hey @greenacrehome! Happy to see you active in the Challenge! Inspired by your hair cutting savings, I've calculated that I might save about $100 per year on my hair.. LOL.

Awesome! Every little bit helps! Thanks for letting me know how you found me, always cool to find out.

Cool :) Yeah, if they doesn't show up and mention it you are usually clueless how they became your followers.

This is great @greenacrehome! This is a great way to save :)

Glad you liked it. :-) It's not a huge savings, but every bit helps over time.

I know about "small savings" using coupons and apps. Definitely every bit helps! 😊

I was once cutting husband's hair... But... He kept getting made fun of in the Army... So I stopped. Although, it really looked fine?? Haha.

Hahaha... that was probably me the first few years. I just worked in a dark cube farm at a hospital in IT where no one knew how to speak to other humans. :-)

I grew up with "home grown" haircuts, and my wife has been cutting my hair for as long as we have been married... it definitely is a great way to save in the budget; it's one of those "small bleeds" many people don't think about.

Very true, plus... it's just so much more convenient!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62683.02
ETH 2962.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64