What’s Out There Now

Spring Day crop April 2018.jpg
Lovely spring day, peas planted in the Small garden, cold frame #1 is full and there are some in cold frame #2, yard is raked

This is what I found wandering around the yard. I have 3 major gardens and 37 flowerbeds. I can’t photograph them all, so I will just put up the high lights.

East - lungwort crop April 2018.jpg
Lungwort in the East garden, species spiderwort behind it

East - white violet crop April 2018.jpg
White violet in the East garden, one of 6 different varieties

South - orange tulips open crop April 2018.jpg
The orange tulips are still going strong in the South garden

Big garden - trench tamped2 crop April 2018.jpg
The trench for the fence around the big garden has been tamped down, waiting for the wire

Big garden - garlic2 crop April 2018.jpg
Garlic in the Big garden, 2 kinds (German Extra Hardy and Chesnok Red) plus French Gray shallots

Big garden - comfrey2 crop April 2018 .jpg
Comfrey in the Big garden

Big garden - rhubarb2 crop April 2018.jpg
Rhubarb in the Big garden

2nd Fence - Daffodils2 crop April 2018.jpg
Daffodils in the 2nd Fence garden

3rd Fence - Daffodils2 crop April 2018.jpg
Daffodils in the 3rd Fence garden

New Herb garden - Johnny Jumpups1 crop April 2018.jpg
In the New Herb garden, volunteer Johnny Jump-ups, 3 different color styles

New Herb garden - Johnny Jumpups2 crop April 2018.jpg

New Herb garden - Johnny Jumpups3 crop April 2018.jpg

New Herb garden - 7th row finished crop April 2018.jpg
New Herb garden, 7th row all finished until June

New Herb garden - bee balm crop April 2018.jpg
New Herb garden, bee balm is up

Sort:  

Gosh that's a lot of garden to look after :) I see you have comfrey planted in there - I want to plant some of that myself to make salve with - I have the plantain but will have to buy comfrey this time. I can see you will have a very busy gardening season :)

I like that you have to name the gardens based on where they're located because there are so many. I have to do the same thing or else my husband has no idea what I'm talking about. Haha! Those volunteer Johnny-jump-ups are really adorable. I wish mine had come back, but I think they got mowed before they produced seeds last year. Husbands!! Haha!

Yup, all the flowerbeds have location names. Sometimes it has to do with how old they are (Old North, New Herb, etc.). Some have to do with the tree they are under: Catalpa, Crabapple, etc.

Wow, that’s quite a garden you’ll have to look after.. I love all the flowers!

Wow! What a nice garden @goldenoakfarm!
All those flower beds... just amazing.
Are you using straw for your deep mulch?

No, I HATE straw! For several reasons:

  1. It doesn't do the job keeping weeds down, too loose
  2. It doesn't last, rots fast
  3. It's unsafe when wet, VERY slippery

I've used hay for mulch since 1993. If used properly (and most don't put it down correctly) there are no weeds. I've yet to weed these gardens since last fall. Weeds, left uncovered, will grow all winter and start in full force in very early spring. So if there were weeds, you'd see them by now in my gardens.

I have to do minor weeding around each planted plant as you need to leave space for it to grow. Weeds will grow in that space. So every 2 - 3 weeks I wander the gardens and weed for maybe an hour.

Everything looks so neat and perfect and ready for 2018!!
And gotta love some volunteers...always makes me happy.

Your garden is lovely. I love the background too--the rustic barn and fence back there. Beautiful scenery.

I need to get some of that hay out in my beds.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57971.70
ETH 2448.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34