The Pie Basket November 23, 2018 @goldenoakfarm

Thanksgiving - pie basket6 crop Nov. 2018.jpg

So on Wednesday I decided to make 2 pies instead of 1. I had all the ingredients, so I made them. That evening I was trying to think how to transport them, when I remembered I had a pie basket in the attic.

Due to memory problems, several years ago I cleaned out the attic and organized it. Then I made a map of what was there and where. So I dragged out the map, and sure enough, there was a pie basket along the south wall. My husband went up with me to excavate the area and we finally found it, moved over into the old wicker baskets.

Pie basket insert crop .jpg
What should have been there…

So I got it downstairs and opened it and the above is what I didn’t see. It had either not had an insert or it had been lost. Well, I had to have an insert. So I went down to my box collection, but nothing was the correct size or alterable.

So I started scouting around the cellar because I was not about to go to the barn, a 1/8 mile walk in windy cold at 7:00 at night. I found some cedar shingles we kept down there for shimming things. Now I needed something sturdy for legs. I walked by the garden supplies area, and there they were. Tiny clay pots I’d never use for plants. I was in business!

Tools for basket crop Nov. 2018.jpg

I got my nuts, bolts and tools out of the pantry and set to work. A box cutter cut the shingles just fine. My husband found 4 bolts and nuts for them for holding the flower pots on. He held the pieces while I drilled with the hand drill. It took about 45 minutes to find the stuff and make this.

Thanksgiving - pie basket3 crop Nov. 2018.jpg

I reversed the shingles so the taper from one is against the width of the other. This cut some of the slant. I used 2 small bolts and nuts where they met on one side to hold them together.

Thanksgiving - pie basket2 crop Nov. 2018.jpg

I put one of the pie dishes in and positioned the pots in the corners, to determine where to put the bolts. I had used my largest glass pie dishes for both pies, so it had to fit around them.

Thanksgiving - pie basket1 crop Nov. 2018.jpg

Thanksgiving - pie basket4 crop Nov. 2018.jpg

It fit fine around the dish. The pots were just the right height.

Thanksgiving - pie basket5 crop Nov. 2018.jpg

The top plate fit in perfectly too. So now I have an insert. There was a bit of a problem with the nuts coming unscrewed from the bolts on the legs during the rides down and back.

I had only fastened them finger tight as I didn’t want to break a pot. I’ll have to put glue on them or something so they don’t keep falling apart.

Thanksgiving -  pies crop Nov. 2018.jpg
Pear slice, left, wild blueberry, right, both with pecan crusts

Source:
Insert: https://www.etsy.com/listing/654035513/vintage-pie-shelf-wicker-pie-basket?gpla=1&gao=1&&utm_source=google&utm_medium=cpc&utm_campaign=shopping_us_e-home_and_living-storage_and_organization-shelving&utm_custom1=0ef5194a-6428-4771-8dda-b419c71cae3f&utm_content=go_270949475_21143555075_69017211275_pla-106556364995_c__654035513&gclid=EAIaIQobChMI39SZtMXq3gIVuP_jBx1vfgdaEAQYBCABEgKlyvD_BwE

Join Us on Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

Your pies look amazing! I could dig right in to that wild blueberry yum!

Xx ToL

Oh, dear! It's all gone, I just finished it off. :))

There was no sugar or wheat used to make it either.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62915.59
ETH 2542.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63