Running Errands - December 16, 2019 @goldenoakfarm

Wellscroft sign crop December 2019.jpg

Monday I was meant to do laundry and make a mobile. But I had mentioned to my husband a while back we needed fence posts for repairing poultry netting. He was not having a great day and thought maybe a roadtrip to the fencing company in NH would be a productive way to spend the day. We could also run errands up there.

So I got the laundry started and made my last Steemit post, showered and we were off.

Wellscroft - old dog with stick crop December 2019.jpg

After a nice lunch at a little family restaurant in Keene, we arrived at the fence company. There were about 8 dogs that converged to greet us and soak up patting.

A couple followed us inside as we placed our order, and my husband became doorman to a couple of them during that time. Apparently there’s one who likes to be an in-and-out-and-in-and-out dog.

The old dog above was inside and followed me out. She immediately found me a stick to throw, so I obliged. She set off after it in a very arthritic trot only to have the young dog get there first.

Wellscroft - old dog sulking crop December 2019.jpg

She laid down and sulked.

Wellscroft - young dog dog with stick2 crop December 2019.jpg

I threw it again and she set off again, same result. I guess there’s probably a method to doing it so she can get it, not the young dogs. I hadn’t mastered it. She just laid down again. If you look carefully, you can see the massive livestock guardian dog in the upper right corner, watching us.

Fence wire and posts crop December 2019.jpg

It looks like there’s a lot of fence repair in my future….

Christmas music crop December 2019.jpg

From Thanksgiving to New Year’s Day I am allowed to play Christmas music when he’s around, also long as it is instrumental, no singing of words. So I had a bunch of CDs I’d put in the car and I proceeded to listen to my music as we drove.

Windows - Roundtop grille1 crop July 07.jpg
Roundtop being installed in 2007, with 2” x 4” walls

We are moving this roundtop window to the living room next year. It will be going from a 2” x 4” wall to a 2” x 6” wall, so will need jamb extensions. We ordered a jamb extension when we ordered the windows in the summer. The first one that came was very poorly made and did not include the sides and bottom. It was returned. The second one that came was warped along the arch and was returned, didn’t even accept shipment.

That eventually ended up back at the window place in NH. My husband had agreed to bring it home, try to fit it to the window, and if it was as poor as we thought, he’d take photos and send them of this problem.

So we were to pick up the extension as one of our errands. We did point out the warps, etc before we took it to the car. But it is the first thing we’ve tried to load into the Subaru that would not fit! So back in the store it went.

Our truck has not been inspected yet and has an expired sticker, so we can’t drive it up to get the extension. They said they might have a driver coming our way in the next week or so, and could bring it down. So we left it at that.

Old Kodak camera crop December 2019.jpg
The old camera from 2006

Then we headed out to buy me a new camera my husband had found.

Mine is on its last legs, the latest thing, the button you push to take the photo only works sometimes… We bought it in 2006 so it doesn’t owe us anything.

New camera box crop December 2019.jpg

There were 3 Kodaks to select from. This is the one we selected, the middle quality. There was no manual to look through, so it was mostly guesswork.

New camera crop December 2019.jpg

So far, I’m not terribly impressed. It takes 4 AA batteries, twice as many as my old one. It had 4 batteries with it and wore them out in literally 5 minutes. I put some of my rechargeable ones in.

It needs a memory card and didn’t come with one, so we had to go buy one. We’ll have to buy more batteries too, the rate it goes through them. To get the photos off the camera, it needs a special cord. It didn’t have that either.

I’ve only taken a few photos with it. The quality is pretty good, but the photos are enormous, I need to figure out how to get good quality and still be able to upload them.

I found the users manual online but it is really bare bones. It doesn’t address basic things, like when you try to download photos, it refuses and shuts off. Or if it has trouble focusing, it shuts off. Or the screen goes black.

Speaking of screen, it has a nice large one, but there are times where I need a viewfinder, due to reflection and my glasses. It doesn’t have one, none of the ones we looked at did.

If I can’t work these things out, it will be returned. It seems too complicated for me.

Anyways, we finished our errands and came home. It was cheese omelets for supper with wild blueberries on the side.

Not a terribly productive day…

Tuesday it’s to snow all day. I hope to finish the laundry and make the mobile. I’ve more shopping to do and we may go out in the afternoon, if the snow’s not too bad.

Sort:  

Kodak being a mostly dead brand, seems a strange pick in the face of a compact Panasonic or Canon or Sony consumer camera! At least it's very cheap! I never thought there were so cheap cameras! Now you need to learn of image processing 😉

Well, my old one was Kodak from 2006 and has served me VERY well, so that was part of the reason, plus I knew how to use it, which had been a hope, I'd have a clue about the new one. Oh, well.....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66984.19
ETH 2613.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67