You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Quick Garden Grow Guide #1

This was such a cool post to come across! I have done much the same, compiling info on what each plant likes, but I have never included the moon phases. Such a good idea!

One thing I found really useful in germination is to know what each plant wants for light and warmth. I see you had some of that.

I came across this the other day, but have not had time to check to see if it jibes with what I have recorded:

http://extension.oregonstate.edu/columbia/sites/default/files/soil_temperature_conditions_for_vegetable_seed_germination.pdf

I did notice that they were using a standard seed depth of 1/2", and had instances of things not germinating. I thought it very odd they would do that because there is such a wide variable of what different seeds like for depth, or lack thereof.

Sort:  

@goldenoakfarm honestly there is so much information on each plant that putting it all here would have taken me a week LOL. Yep you are so right! I use my finger to gauge how i am planting things if i dont have a pencil handy. I find generally, fingerprint for small seeds, heavy fingerprint for a bit larger and depending ill go up to first knuckle. Since the general rule of thumb (ha a pun) is the size of the length of seed x2. I just remember by my own rule of thumb!

Changing subject, I checked out the garlic chives, it does not seem to fit, but after doing a full research on wild garlic, it does not seem to fit that either????? It tastes like garlic, thin flat leaves with an onion scent and grows in bunches. The taste is definitely garlic! I had three people try it or smell it. I'm stumped!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60334.00
ETH 2571.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56