You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mama Renegades Urban Gardening Secrets

So she's never done a soil test, just compost and manure and the epsom salts?

Her results are just amazing! Especially considering what she started with.

I'd sure love to see a soil profile, but I don't expect that to happen.

My soil is the 7th best in the world, per National Geographic survey. But it has been continuously farmed since 1670. And conventionally farmed since the 50's so it was SERIOUSLY depleted when I started.

I've been working on amending it using soil tests as guides, because, as I said, prior to doing that I had serious bug problems. I've used hay for mulch since 1993, and did add things like bloodmeal, bonemeal, lime, and wood ashes. Most of these made the balance way, way off, because I'd never done a soil test.

Now I know what it needs to be balanced, and have been slowly working towards that, the bug problems are way, way down.

But I find your mom's garden REALLY fascinating!

Thanks for finding out what she's done over the years. I am really impressed!

Sort:  

Yeah, compost, manure, epsom salt (recently started), and she doesn't turn the soil over. Just fluffs up the surface inch or two if she needs to plant seeds into it. I think she has learned what works for her site from trial and error.

Soil testing is a great idea. Especially early on in plot development. I plan to have some samples taken out at our homestead. Hopefully next year.

Are you still using hay as a mulch? One year I had bad slug problems. It was a wet year and I was using grass clippings as mulch and it was a perfect hiding place for the slugs during the day. I suppose the hay might cause similar issues with slugs.

Interestingly enough, the year before it was very hot and dry and I had really good results with the grass clipping mulch.

Yes, whenever I can get it, I still use hay mulch. I do have slug problems still. They are the main holdout.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60274.16
ETH 2339.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55