Planting in the New Herb Garden - May 30, 2019 @goldenoakfarm

New Herb garden - Row 3 planted1 crop May 2019.jpg
Row 3 looking west, all planted

My helper friend was due at 7:30 Thursday morning so I got out there as early as I could. The plan was to finish weeding the walkway by the time he got the foliar spraying done. I almost did it, having 4’ he helped me finish.

At this end, the French tarragon had survived the winter, the only one of 4. I planted 4 Lemon verbenas in its bed. One of these had started to flower. I had a little mulch for some of these.

My husband had left to get organic hay mulch, but returned much too soon. The brakes on the truck started to smoke. So he spent the day repairing those. Maybe mulch tomorrow…

The next bed was empty and 4’ wide, so I planted the 9 Toothache plants I had started in there. They are doing excellently. The next bed, 3’ wide got 1 catnip. Catnip tends to get very large here…

And in the middle were the 2 sorrel plants, flowering and going to seed.

New Herb garden - Row 3 planted2 crop May 2019.jpg
Row 3 looking east

Starting at the west end now, I planted 2 spotted bee balms in the area of the bee balm bed that had had plants removed. Behind them are the remaining lavender bee balm plants.

On the back side of the bee balm are 3 snapdragons. Beyond that, if you look over the top of the bee balm, on the right, you can see the white foxglove plant. Next to it, out of sight, is a yellow foxglove.

The next bed has 3 parsley and between that and the sorrel is a bed of transplanted wild mustard. Some of these are flowering.

While I was planting my helper friend was moving mulch onto the walkway. We finished at the same time.

New Herb garden - Row 4 half cleared1 crop May 2019.jpg
Row 4 half cleared looking west

New Herb garden - Row 4 half cleared2 crop May 2019.jpg
Row 4 half cleared looking east

I clean out as far as I can reach into neighboring beds as I work my way down the walkways. The walkways were mulched in 2016 when the garden was created. All the mulch had turned into soil and needed to be replaced.

Hydrangea - geranium, soapwort, creeping veronica, sedum, columbine, Sweet William crop May 2019.jpg

The hydrangea garden that will have to be moved for the septic system. It has, from the left: sedum, soapwort, creeping veronica, geranium, Sweet William, columbine, and more sedum.

7th Fence - verbascum, iris, hawkweed crop May 2019.jpg
7th Fence garden – pink and white verbascum, couple of iris blooming and in the grass, yellow hawkweed

Today I tackle the 4th walkway and clear the rest of Row 4 and some of Row 5. Supposed to turn into a nice day with sun and 70’s….

Join Us on Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

Everything looks so luscious, really gorgeous! IS Lemon verbena an annual for you?

Yes, it is. And I found a farm that starts organic seedlings in the area!

So awesome! We had some really lovely organic choices for a few years and now they've vanished. It does not bode well for me selling seedlings and young plants from our homestead does it?

On the other hand, perhaps there's a void you can fill.....

I was looking for Tulsi basil at the market and could find none this year.... :))

Do you experiment with which herbs acclimate to your garden? I'm still figuring out what will cope with our extreme climate and poor soil. The tarragon didn't make it to a third year, but the fennel had taken off like crazy and its a similar flavour, so I'm sticking with that.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, and I had some surprises this year. Lavender has never survived here, but 1 of them did this year! No idea why....

Thyme might take a hit but mostly survives well, but not this year....

Santolina never survived here but made it through the winter this year...

Russian tarragon has been in the same place since 1992. French tarragon usually dies except for that one this year, no matter where I plant it.

So I just never know...

All looking very ship-shape....! Did you check out @eco-alex's great post about Biodynamic Gardening? It's really lovely and takes us into a whole new level of supporting and encouraging plants to grow..


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 56989.27
ETH 2425.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39