Mulching the Wall - September 17, 2019 @goldenoakfarm

New Herb - along the wall1 crop September 2019.jpg

This is my mini English Walled garden. Actually it is a retaining wall for the “mountain” aka drainfield for the septic system. But it was put in to hold a little heat from the sun, and to provide a small amount of protection from the west wind.

The dirt area you can see on the mountain has been seeded to wildflowers. The rest of the wildflower seed shipped on Tuesday, so it will be spread by the end of the week. Hopefully next year it will be lovely.

I also plan to plant creeping plants in the spring along the edge, which has a small retaining area full of topsoil. They will, I hope, drape down over the wall.

New Herb - along the wall2 crop September 2019.jpg

My helper friend was here on Tuesday and he weeded the inside walkway and I weeded the area to the wall. My husband brought us up tractor buckets full of bark mulch and we mulched this area very heavily.

We’d weeded inside the fence in case mulch spilled into it. But the rabbit fence held it all. So on Thursday when he comes we will mulch this walkway before more weeds can grow.

For such a small area and 2 people working, it still took us all morning to do.

Join Us on Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

I'm sure the work will pay off

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm looking forward to seeing the wildflowers in bloom next year! Looks like you did a lot of hard work. It will for sure pay off. ;)

It's been so dry here, I'm hoping they will come up. I hope to set up watering today, as the other 2 packages of seeds are due in today.

Keep in mind, wildflowers are used to the natural climate you live in (assuming you selected native varieties) and often they need chill hours so most of the time, they won't come up the first year. After winter, as soon as the ground warms, that is when you typically see them in abundance. So don't get discouraged if they don't come up right away. Give them time. ;)

A good point and one I had forgotten! That cheered me up no end! Thanks!

A good point and one
I had forgotten! That cheered
Me up no end! Thanks!

                 - goldenoakfarm


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Glad to help! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63626.66
ETH 2640.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75