Making Enchiladas - January 16, 2020 @goldenoakfarm

Enchiladas - wheat finished crop January 2020.jpg
The finished meal

Chili powder - ingredients chiles crop January 2020.jpg

You may remember these from my post when my helper friend made me chili powder last week. I didn’t figure I’d ever use them, so I gave them to him. Well, he went home and made enchilada sauce with them. He had so much he brought me a frozen container of it.

Enchiladas - ingredients crop January 2020.jpg

He’d made enchiladas and brought them for his lunch on Tuesday. They were very good so we decided we’d make them on Thursday. His tub is upper right. There was no recipe as he carries a lot of meals in his head.

We used all of the cheeses, ½ of the sauce, 2 cups of my chopped frozen Walla Walla onions, all of the corn tortillas and 2 of the wheat ones.

Enchiladas - ingredients chili powder crop January 2020.jpg

At the last minute he decided to add my new chili powder to the onion cheese mix, at a heaping ½ teaspoon.

Enchiladas - queso fresco on onions crop January 2020.jpg

He put the half thawed onions in the bowl and crumbed the queso fresco on top.

Enchiladas - queso fresco on onions and chili powder crop January 2020.jpg

Then he put the heaping ½ teaspoon of chili powder on and gently mixed it all together.

Enchiladas - heating corn tortillas crop January 2020.jpg

The wheat tortillas were fresh but the corn ones had been frozen. They also needed to be heated to be able to roll them without cracking. So he got my cast iron grill pan out and on medium heat he warmed and slightly toasted each tortilla, using a pastry brush to wipe on olive oil. (He uses peanut oil for his but I can’t eat peanuts.) They were put in the little oven at 175F to stay warm until being filled and rolled.

Enchiladas - filled wheat tortillas crop January 2020.jpg

He did the wheat ones first, as they were easiest and only 2. These were for my husband. The filling is the simple queso fresco/onion mix.

Enchiladas - sauce on wheat tortillas crop January 2020.jpg

Then he coated them with the sauce.

Enchiladas - cheese and sauce on wheat tortillas crop January 2020.jpg

He’d grated the small block of extra sharp Cheddar cheese and sprinkled some on top.

Enchiladas - filling corn tortillas crop January 2020.jpg

Then he did the corn tortillas, taking each one out of the oven one at a time.

Enchiladas - filled corn tortillas1 crop January 2020.jpg

There was a little queso/onion mix left, as we only had 9 tortillas instead of 10, which would have finished it off. He sprinkled that on top of the rolled tortillas.

Enchiladas - sauce on corn tortillas crop January 2020.jpg

Then he coated them with the remaining sauce, making sure it went down the sides all around.

Enchiladas - cheese and sauce on corn tortillas crop January 2020.jpg

The remaining Cheddar cheese on top and they were done. We put them in the fridge to store for supper.

Enchiladas - finished crop January 2020.jpg

I put them in the cold oven from the fridge and set it at 350F for 45 mins, to allow for it to heat up. They were uncovered so the cheese would brown slightly. I put a flat pan under them in case they cooked over the sides. They didn’t. But I think 35 – 40 minutes would have been enough. These are small pans.

They were very good! I think the extra chili powder made them a bit more spicy than we like, so I’d reduce or eliminate it next time.

Sort:  

The sauce does look extra dark, probably because of the extra chili powder. The dish looks good. I like enchiladas too.

Thanks for sharing.

Have always loved your natural homemade dishes

This post has been appreciated and featured in daily quality content rewards. Keep up the good work

Thanks! Glad you enjoy them. :))

Looks awesome! I never made my own enchiladas before.

Nor I, but now I know how he does it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61940.19
ETH 2433.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50