Help!

My husband took a mental health day on Friday and went deepsea fishing. On the ride out to 30 miles off shore, the boat took an unexpected roll and he fell over a cooler and injured both knees.

Pam and David framed Aug. 2017.jpg

We are at the height of our farm season and could really use some help for the next 3 weeks. He’s not going to be able to walk much, and most of what he does involves a lot of walking. I am unable to walk far or for very long.

As we only have the disability income, we can’t pay for help. But we can offer:

12Spare Room - Finished3 Sept. 06.jpg

A spare room

Lots of organic, nutrient dense food:

https://steemit.com/livesustainably/@goldenoakfarm/guilty-pleasures-homestead-style

Rarebit - plated crop April 2018.jpg

And intensive learning program on how we work the homestead:

The gardens:

https://steemit.com/homesteading/@goldenoakfarm/garden-tour-for-august-1st

Big garden crop July 2018.jpg

The broilers:

Broilers and cows crop June 2018.jpg
The broiler pasture pen

Managing beef cattle:

Eleven yearlings4 crop Sept. 10 2012.jpg
Daily paddock moves

Moving cows1 crop Aug. 2013.jpg
Moving cows from pasture to pasture

Piggies - boar, David, gilt3 crop July 2014.jpg
Raising weaner pigs

Hens in maple leaves - Ernie outside, far right crop Oct. 09.jpg
Layer management

Food preservation:

Wallas - dehydrator full crop Aug. 2018.jpg
Dehydrating

Stock at a stand still crop Nov. 2016.jpg
Bone stock making

And chicken processing on Labor Day weekend:

David starting the last birds2 crop Sept. 2017.jpg
David stripping carcasses in our butchershop

We also need to get the wood into the woodshed:

David.Woodpile6.Oct.00.jpg

Logistics:

We are in Western Massachusetts near Northampton, MA. We are an older couple with chronic invisible illnesses (Lyme disease, end stage liver disease). We’ve owned the homestead for over 35 years.

We’d expect between 4 – 6 hours of help a day, usually in the early mornings and in the evenings.

We offer 3 meals a day and room and board. We have wi-fi. Please don’t bring pets. We have cats. No alcohol or illegal drugs or substances is not tolerated. No smoking on the farm.

We also require a valid health insurance card and information on who to contact in an emergency.

Contact us on Discord @goldenoakfarm

More about the farm:
https://steemit.com/kin-shep/@goldenoakfarm/the-peaceful-farm-on-the-edge-of-africa

Join Us on Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

Oh how I wished I lived closer to you. I am not able to work fields, etc for long periods of time myself, but I would definitely be there to help as much as I could.

Hopefully someone nearby will help you both out.. wishing for a speedy recovery for your husband too

Thanks! I wish we had more community around us, here in the this town...

I know there were two homesteading community members- coyoteom and another person who started @kin-shep and @shep-heard; which is a way for people who are traveling around the US/country and are looking to help others out.
Maybe check out @kin-shep and @shep-heard to see, or contact them on discord about this. I'm not sure how much has developed from the community but it's something

here is one of their posts from a few months back
https://steemit.com/community/@shep-heard/calling-all-travelers-steemit-now-provides-a-way-for-you-to-travel-room-and-board-free

I had checked them all out. There's been no activity on the site since about April, I think. :((

oh sorry.. I was hoping there would be something there to help you.I keep thinking.. and thinking.

When they started the kin-shep thing, I thought it was a great idea. But it just fizzled out...

At the end of this day, I'd like to report that several local people have stepped up, we may have a young homeschooling intern for a long period to teach and to help us, and things are looking hopeful.

My husband's knees did not have any broken bits. But as to soft tissue issues, he will have to have his regular doctor address that. Trying to keep him from doing too much until he can see her is the hardest job on the farm, so far....

Thank you to everyone who sent best wishes, prayers, and thoughts. We may make it through this yet....

So glad you found help!!!! Prayers for his knees to heal quickly!

He says he thinks the anti-inflammatory he was prescribed this morning has helped a little. But until it's evaluated for soft tissue injury, I'm trying to keep him from doing much....

Hey, I'm living in Iran, unless I would come and help.

Your homestead is something to be proud of. I am sorry about the difficulties you are facing. Hope the right person comes along to help. Wishing you both the best. 🐓🐓

Damn. I'm in the absolute wrong corner of the country. I think I'd love to 'get back to my roots' for three or four weeks. Looks like fun to me.

So. How far would I have to walk to smoke a cigar? Best of luck to you.

About 1/8th mile.... :))

Wish i could help!!!! Good luck finding someone xxx Here is to a speedy recovery. Xx

Sorry to hear this! I do know about knee problems and such. It is rough, I really hope you can find some help on your farm. This would be a way for someone interested in homesteading and farming to learn a lot.

Oh.. have you contacted your local/county intermediate schools? Or 4H or USDA programs? Maybe they have someone they can put you in contact with

I only found out about his injury last night at 9PM, so there's been no time for any of that. I have posted to FB, which I had not yet taken down, our local TimeBank, a local community board, and our local chicken group. Others are spreading the story in our area.

So far, a lot of people have said they are sorry to hear, but are unable to help...

Hopefully the local community board, or even a local church, can send some young people your way

Ever thought of Airbnb?

How would that get chores done?

yeah, guess your right. I was thinking of an extra income. I so would come and help you on sundays, but im in california :(

Hi there @goldenoakfarm! I wish I lived closer to you, but I'm currently in Mexico with my husband @briancourteau; he too is on a disability pension and our money just goes further here than in Vancouver, Canada. I grew up on a farm though and would love to be able to help you guys out!!!

I see this post is 6 days old, have you sorted it out yet? Sending positive vibes your way!!

We did get help from various sources and are still getting help. One woman is out weedwacking right now. :))

I know all about trying to make disability go farther....sorry to hear you do also.

I'm just really glad you guys have some help right now!

I'm sorry for you too. Here is Mexico, our money goes a whole lot further and we can actually enjoy a 'retirement' :)

Take care @goldenoakfarm; hoping your husband recovers quickly. That's a lot for you to deal with!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04