Happenings on Monday

Multiflora rose1 crop June 2018.jpg
Multi-flora rose

We got a call late Sunday night that the cows would be arriving early Monday morning. It seems a fence post had gotten broken since the fence check so my husband went up to fix it. He also had to run a wire around the broiler coop to keep the cows away.

Hoophouse coop crop June 2018.jpg

I, in the meantime, was doing the week’s laundry and hanging it out and finishing my morning chores. Then we went up to wait for the trailer to arrive. It was a long wait as the driver got lost.

So here are some of the photos we took.

Broilers - rooster crop June 2018.jpg
The rooster

It seems we have at least 1 rooster. With Barred Rocks it’s easy to tell the roosters once they are feathered out. They have reverse coloring.

Broilers in hoophouse crop June 2018.jpg
Broilers in coop

The rooster is under the first roost by the feeders, just his tail showing. You can see the difference in coloring, next to the females.

Multiflora rose3 crop June 2018.jpg
Multi-flora rose

One of the things I love about June is when the multi-flora rose flowers. The entire area is saturated with the heady scent for over a week. I used to have clove scent dianthus under the northwest window and it also flowered at this time. I’ve not been able to find that strong scented flower again. I thought I’d found some seed this year, but the order from Sand Mountain was never acknowledged or sent despite repeated attempts to phone and e-mail.

Eggs in nest in post crop June 2018.jpg
Eggs in a fence post

My husband noticed a bird fly out of a fence post while we were waiting. Upon investigation, we discovered a nest way down inside. You can see the insulator and wire in the lower left corner. The post was high enough I could not see to aim the camera. I was surprised to get this photo.

We could not get a good enough look at the bird to identify it.

Echinacea for dehydrator crop June 2018.jpg
Echinacea for the layers

Before I went up to wait, I cut a bowlful of echinacea and yarrow to dehydrate. The echinacea is just getting buds, the yarrow had about ¼ of the buds open.

Yarrow for dehydrator crop June 2018.jpg
Yarrow for the layers

After the cows came, we went back to the house. Once I got the dehydrators loaded, I worked on photos for a while. I was pretty tired as I’d had a sleepless night so I spent the rest of the day resting and sleeping.

Sort:  

Found an interesting website that might help you identify the type of bird that laid the eggs.
http://www.birds.cornell.edu/page.aspx?pid=1327

I looked but did not see an example of that particular egg pattern.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63294.77
ETH 2638.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70