First Seed Starting February 27, 2018

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

I started the first round of seeds this morning because I had help coming who could do the standing parts. (I can’t stand for very long, Lyme thing…) I try to start as close to dates as I can (March 1, March 15, etc.) because I need things ready to move to new places in time to put new startings in the windows. I have very limited real estate for seed starting in the house.

Setting up seedling shelves1 crop Feb. 2018.jpg

Setting up seedling shelves2 crop Feb. 2018.jpg

Yesterday I started pulling out all the equipment and bringing it upstairs and setting it up. In the kitchen there was the frame for the big light, and 3 shelves in the South window. Nothing was going into the East window this time so I left that one alone. In the living room, I set up 4 of the 7 benches, 2 by the woodstove and 2 by the front door.

I’d discovered if I didn’t level the benches, the trays would leak when watered. So I spent last night with a level and shims. This morning I finished moving everything out of the kitchen and putting the extra shelving away until needed.

March 1, 2018

March 1 2018 Seed Starting Chart crop.jpg

Sunday I spent all day creating the Starting Charts for each starting. Total seedlings to start this year is 1614. I am starting a lot of herbs this year and many need stratified. So I have to make room in the fridge in the barn for those trays.

Preparing charts for seed starting1 crop Feb. 2018.jpg

I pulled the Starting Info sheet for each plant and started making markers and notes.

Writing plant markers1 crop Feb. 2018.jpg

I put the markers with the seed packets and line them up on the counter.

Filling pots crop Feb. 2018.jpg

Then we start filling pots, soaking them with warm water and putting the seeds and markers in.

We had 12 trays and a 9” x 9” tin to do. The tin was for vernalizing the Columbine in the fridge.

Seed starting done1 crop Feb. 2018.jpg

We started at 8AM and were done and cleaned up by noon.

The south window has 8 trays: Kale: Vates and Lacinato 5 trays; Onions: Cortland (a storage onion) nearly 3 trays; and 6 pots of Verbascum to fill the partial tray.

Seed starting done2 crop Feb. 2018.jpg

The bench next to the wood stove has 3 trays: Beets, 1 tray; mesclun ½ tray and Heliotrope 6 pots. The 3rd tray was to have mostly pansies, but someone put all the seed in the first tray, forgetting there was another to do… So it has a new house plant, Pink Polka Dot plant, 6 pots starting here by the stove. When the pansy seedlings come up, I will transplant them into the waiting pots.

Seed starting done3 crop Feb. 2018.jpg

This lone tray in front of the living room door has the pansy seeds. They prefer dark to germinate, so the dome is covered with foil.

When I was making the plant markers I discovered one of my seed orders, placed January 5th, had not come in. It had agrimony and Sweet Cecily that I needed to stratify today. No idea what happened to it…

That’s done! In 3 – 5 days I will need to start getting lights up as the mesclun is sure to be up followed shortly by the beets. Then the kale and a while later the onions. Just about that time, I will be getting ready for the next starting around March 15th.


Directory of Steemit Posts
Community Forums

Sort:  

March 1 and all the mesclun is up. It was started by the wood stove which was only lit at night. It has been moved to the South window in the kitchen and we put lights up this morning.

Mesclun up1 crop March 2018.jpg

Congratulations! You are now an Official Featured Blogger on Sotall.org. This post has been added to our growing directory of Steemit post for the Homesteading/Survival communities. You can claim your badge along with the code to add to your posts to let the world know you have chosen to help others Survive, Thrive and be Prepared! Click here to get the code

I absolutely love how you transform your entire home into seed central! If I did that, I have a feeling my husband would finally draw the line for my gardening addiction

Well, as this feeds us and the chickens for a year, my husband can hardly object. And he doesn't want to build me a greenhouse, so..... :))

Benefits of living here, already have seeds started outdoors!

Heliotrope!!! i knew there was a flower that i was missing - oh boy, those are incredible!

i'm have a bit of envy over your setup. and lots of awe!

Nice production line! Having a system makes things so much more manageable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62980.29
ETH 2631.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82