December 9, 2018 @goldenoakfarm

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

Driveway - last hole filled1 crop Dec. 2018.jpg

We had a pretty good day yesterday. The sun was out, it was pretty cold, not quite up to 32F, and windy.

Driveway - last hole filled2 crop Dec. 2018.jpg

An update on the driveway work:

We are waiting for the 8th delivery of a tri-axle truck full of gravel. All the major holes have been filled and we can now drive to the barn again. What’s left is to increase the height of the driveway and slope it to the south for drainage. We think we’ll need 3 – 4 loads, including the 8th we are waiting for, to finish to the barn. Then we need to do from the house to the road, raise that up and slope it south.

Vegs for hens crop Dec. 2018.jpg

First thing yesterday we went to the Farmers Market and I got root vegs for the layers' mirrors, and a cabbage to hang from the ceiling. There golden beets, striped beets, a radish with a purple center, and turnips with pink centers. I cut them in ½ so the bright colors attract the hens. Fixing up the mirrors is my Sunday job.

Farmers Market - sweet potatoes, goat cheese crop Dec. 2018.jpg

For me, I got 2 big sweet potatoes and some goat chevre. I baked the potatoes right away and ate 1. The super delicious goat cheese I managed to make last the day…. We wanted to get our favorite popcorn for my husband, but none available until January.

David fixing shed roof crop Dec. 2018.jpg

After making a much needed dump run, my husband decided to put some patches on the holes the tree made in the shed roof over a year ago.

Shed roof patches1 crop Dec. 2018.jpg

He had 1 more big one to put on after these 2.

My afternoon was spent making and wrapping presents and watching Christmas movies. One of the families in the milk club did the run today and they stopped in with their 3 year old and the milk. She was fascinated with the Christmas tree. I read her one of my son’s old popup books and then it was time for them to head home.

Join Us on Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

Your driveway looks great.
One question. Why do the hens need mirrors?

My coop is too small for the number of hens I keep. So I find various ways of keeping them entertained when they get stuck inside due to snow, etc. As you can see, they do enjoy looking at the that "other chicken" in the mirror.

how lovely! I worked on a farm in Keene, New Hampshire for several years. I miss New England snow, rock walls, swimming lakes and ponds....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63271.81
ETH 2568.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80