Back in the Gardens - February 24, 2020 @goldenoakfarm

Big garden - project area crop February 2020.jpg
The mess in the Big garden from last year

I have 2 big projects to finish by planting time this year. The first is to clean out the mess above in the Big garden. It measures 42’ long and around 30’ wide, but some of it has been done.

Big garden - fence line started crop February 2020.jpg

The other is to removed the rotten chicken wire along this 60’ fence line and get the new fence up. I started in the middle on Tuesday because it had not been weeded last year. I’d only gotten 30’ of it weeded. The 30’ had not been dug to remove the wire either.

But I figured I’d get the hardest bit done first and then tackle the easier part. So I collected my tools and sheet of cardboard and went out to do battle after lunch on Monday. It had warmed to in the 50’s and was sunny.

I got the first 10’ section cleaned off and started digging. I got 5’ done in 3 hours. The top 1” was still frozen, so I put that in a bucket as it had bits of wire in it. We are getting another dumpster for the addition waste and I will put it in there.

Big garden - rest of the mess crop February 2020.jpg

We are to have more warm weather until Wednesday afternoon when it starts to rain. I hope to finish this section by then, and maybe start another. That will be it for this week, as the weather turns cold again after it rains.

I try not to look up at the huge job ahead, just concentrate on the fence line for now.

Sort:  

That is a big job that you have on your hands and not easy when it is cold and wet but you will get there - as they say 'inch by inch, life's a sinch'.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63850.79
ETH 3415.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46