You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Microgreens, Missouri Weather, and Urban Composting Experiment Update!

in #homesteading6 years ago

The hardest thing I have found about growing indoors is the humidity. So many plants require low, or high... moist soil, etc. I added a grow tent inside this winter and have five tomatoes that bloomed. Waiting for them to start turning red. I will have to adjust the heat and humidity in the grow tent to get them to ripen probably- that's my next chore to figure out.

Sort:  

I agree...which is why I’m, at least for right now, keeping my scope fairly limited to microgreens and soon I’ll be planting some herbs, both for greens as well as full plants. That way, I’m more familiar with what I’m dealing with...also...my grow table is right by my drafty back door, which is a nice source of air that flows around them. I haven’t had any mold issues...yet...although I’m afraid my somewhat compulsive watering (although I don’t give them much at a time...just trying to keep that soil damp...especially on a couple of experiments I have going now with no bottom drainage). So far it seems good...I’m going to move a fan into that room this summer in all likelihood to keep the air circulating properly back there.

I’m not brave enough to build a tent yet, although that’s on my list for future goals.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64241.02
ETH 3178.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85