You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reflection: Death on the Farmstead

in #homesteading6 years ago

SO sorry about this. Any passing is difficult to deal with- it causes so many emotions, feelings and pain.

I know when my childhood (pet) dog passed, I was an adult by then and I remember mourning for a long time. She (the Jack Russell Terrier named Trixie) was my best friend growing up. I was a wallflower in school and this little gal was always there for me. When she passed, I had moved out and she lived with my parents as I was not able to have pets where I was living, I can remember my dad stopping by to tell me in person. The memory is still planted firmly in my head; and even now (30 years later) as I type this, I am getting teary-eyed.

Sort:  

Awe man, sounds like you had a really deep connection to that pup. For some reason, if I am not around, it doesn't affect me too terribly much. I had a pitbull while I was in Middle and High School and she would walk me down to the bus stop and pick me up from the bus stop which was about a quarter of a mile from the house. It was amazing, she was the best dog I have ever had. One day, when I was in college, and moved away from home, mom told me she just disappeared. I thought that was too bad, but I don't think I ever cried too much over her passing. I do know that we could have taken better care of her, but as a kid, I didn't really know. You know? She was awesome. I wish I still had pictures of her.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66682.62
ETH 3447.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73