Making Queso Blanco Cheese: Curds & Saving The WheysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading7 years ago

Homemade Queso Blanco Cheese


The other day I came across a post from @funhappylives and he was talking about his free kindle books. Well I am a person who loves to read, loves getting free books and LOVES cheese. And he had a cheesemaking book! I was SO there!

thumbnail.jpg

This is going to be delicious tonight crumbled over our nachos for dinner!


Queso Blanco Cheese Recipe


Now I took his recipe in the book and considered how to adjust a few things. It didn't specifically say how much salt to add, what kind of salt, etc; so I did a little research of my own. Found another recipe and tweaked it some for my household's preference.

  • 1/2 (8-cups) gallon raw milk; which I bought on a recent trip to a local dairy farm
  • 1/3 plus 1 tbls apple cider vinegar
  • 1 1/2 tbls sea salt

temp.jpg

Almost there to 185-degrees


cooking.jpg

And the curdling begins


I heated the milk to 185-degrees, stirring frequently as to not scorch it. I never boiled it, just a good rolling simmer. Then added salt. Stirred then added half the apple cider vinegar, stirred until curds started; then added other half of apple cider vinegar. Kept the rolling simmer going and within five minutes the cheese was curdling enough for me to spoon (using a slotted spoon) into a cheesecloth lined colander (which drained into a bowl beneath). I placed a heavy glass bowl over the folded up cheesecloth to assist with draining the liquid away.

It takes about two hours for the cheese to drain real good; and the longer you let it drain, the drier the cheese will taste.

It was SO EASY and I asked myself why I had never made this cheese before. I buy it all the time for when we tacos, burritos and nachos; plus I will just cut off a hunk and nibble on it for a snack.


SAVE THE WHEY!


When I do make homemade cheese, I save the whey. This is the perfect liquid to replace water in a homemade bread recipe; which I will be doing later this week. I am planning on making some homemade dinner rolls to take to my parents for Thanksgiving dinner.


whey.jpg


drain whey.jpg

Plus look at ALL this extra cheese, curds and yummy goodness you get when you drain it all out


So there you have it. My first time making this variety of cheese. I have done ricotta hundreds of times, but never Queso Blanco. I have BIG plans for the other half gallon of raw milk later in the week. Come back and look for another GREAT recipe

Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com

Sort:  

I bet that is so delicious! Awesome work. Whats your favorite tasting cheese to make?

Oh man! Favorite?
We are such cheese freaks in this house.
I have only made ricotta and this one so far. I have my sights on making some mozzarella, marscapone and one day... my ultimate favorite cheese... MUENSTER! LOVE the saltiness from ALL cheese!

Asiago, fontinella, extra sharp cheddar.. I could go on and on about cheese.
I am thrilled I took the step into making another kind aside from ricotta.

Sounds like you need a milk cow lol.

Oh yeah! That would be so awesome! But I can just run to the dairy farm nearby. I was there last Friday and did a post. They have so much cool stuff

You make it look so easy!! I really want to try making my own ricotta cheese, no supermarkets sell it near me and I miss it so much. Do you think it would be prepared similarly to your Queso Blanco?

It is almost identical really. I just don't add salt to the ricotta, plus you add heavy cream in place of some of the milk.I had done a post of my ricotta cheese recipe also months ago.

Oh how handy, you already have a post on it! I'll have a look through your blog and try to find it :) thank you! I love my cheese and need it in my life!

Could you tell me what your ricotta post is titled?

I think it's title "Cause There's nothing like homemade ricotta cheese" I tried scrolling on my page but... without categories it would be forever lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63004.58
ETH 2548.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81