The Frugal Homesteader Pt. 4 (Miter Saw)

in #homesteading7 years ago

20170530_132618-1.jpg

Every homestead has projects. Some of these projects have a high priority and some are just, “when I get around to it”, but one thing that most of these projects, if not all of these projects has in common is the need for tools. Whether you just need a screwdriver or you have to rent a jackhammer, you always seem to need some type of tool to complete the task.

Some tools you will buy and never use again. Others you will use more than you ever imagined. One such tool for me is the Chicago Electric Double Bevel 12 inch Sliding Compound Miter Saw sold by Harbor freight. (Disclaimer: I am not being compensated by Harbor Freight or any other company or individual for endorsing any product.)

2017-06-05 11.34.21.jpg

Now, let me back up a little bit. I have not always been a big fan of Harbor Freight, but a good friend of mine used an older model Chicago Electric miter saw on several projects we worked on together. Initially I thought he was crazy. I mean, you get what you pay for, right? Everyone knows Harbor Freight sells cheap tools! Well, his old saw lasted for several projects over several years (and is still working to this day) and I was no less than impressed. Later, when we bought our homestead, I didn't hesitate to buy a Harbor Freight saw for the upcoming (and desperately needed) remodel.

Why the Double Bevel 12 inch Sliding Compound Miter Saw?

The 12 inch blade was a must have for me. I Previously owned a 10 inch miter saw and it always came up short. Any time I cut a 4x4 post or a 1 in.x 12 in. board it would result in an incomplete cut. I would then have to turn the saw off, flip the lumber, try to line the cut up with the blade, turn the saw on again and finish the cut. Inevitably this resulted in frustration, as it would not be a clean, straight cut. Depending on the project, this could be a significant problem requiring another attempt and wasting lumber. The 12 inch saw has thrown this frustration by the wayside by allowing me to cut through a 4x4 post or 1x12 board in one cut. Also, the double bevel feature allows me to save time over a single bevel saw, as it eliminates having to flip the work piece when making bevel cuts on both sides.
COST

Power tools can be expensive. I remember, years ago when I worked in a locally owned retail tool store, we received Milwaukee's version of the 12 inch Dual Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw. Our store's price was over $800 USD. I understand that all saws are not created equal. Milwaukee makes top notch, professional quality tools that will last and last, and if construction was my trade they would be my go-to brand. But, realistically, that money is best spent elsewhere on our little homestead. When I bought my saw at harborfreight.com, their commonly available “super coupon” brought the price down from $199 USD to $139 USD. I had it shipped to my door in just a few days for a shipping fee of $6.99.

This saw does not come with a blade, so I bought the best blade I could afford. I have always heard, “The blade makes the saw” and I believe there is truth in it. I purchased a Dewalt carbide tipped blade for around $50 and it has served me well. I have cut 4x4 posts, plywood, hardwood, soft wood, newell posts, and the list goes on.

For less than $200 USD I purchased saw and blade (I purchased the blade locally) and it was at my door in less than a week. I have used it for almost three years now and it works like it did the day I unboxed it. I have not regretted buying this saw and would recommend it to any homeowner, homesteader or hobbyist in need of a good miter saw that won't “break the bank”.

How About You?

What power tool(s) have you found to be a valuable addition to your garage or homestead?

Feel free to comment below! If you find this information helpful, please upvote and resteem!

Sort:  

We always seem to need a drill and one of those things to fix the washers in taps.

It's the partner's department though, I avoid power tools like the plague, computers give me enough of a headache XD

A drill is an absolute must.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59126.81
ETH 2514.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46